The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Full Backup - remote ftp server issues

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by gazza777, Jan 26, 2015.

  1. gazza777

    gazza777 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I've been doing moving accounts between two WHm servers using cPanel full backups, the two servers at different providers (Afrihost and Hostgator). All went well with smaller accounts, however I'm having trouble with any account over around 300Mb... here is the method I'm using:

    Generate a Full Backup

    Backup Destination: Remote FTP Server
    Email Address: (set as my own)
    Remote Server (FTP or SCP only.): (Server IP Address)
    Remote User (FTP or SCP only.): (Set and working fine)
    Remote Password (FTP or SCP only.): (Set and working fine)
    Port (FTP or SCP only.): 21
    Remote Directory (FTP or SCP only.):: public_html

    Typically the file arrives at the above specified FTP location, however the file is incomplete. I know this because if I manually download the file off the one server, then upload to the other server, the resulting tar file is always bigger.

    If I repeat the above process (Remote FTP Server) numerous times, the resulting tar is almost always a different size. So it seems like the transfer process is being interrupted.

    I've allowed the sending servers IP address on the receiving server, so that's not an issue, what else could be causing this? It baffles me.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,787
    Likes Received:
    665
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Do you have root access to the server that you are generating the backup on? If not, please contact your hosting provider and ask them to package the account for you, or investigate why the backup is not completing successfully.

    Thank you.
     
  3. gazza777

    gazza777 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I do have root access, but I'm not sure where to start investigating? I have too many accounts to download and the re-upload to the new WHM, this is why I'm pushing for a resolution here.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,787
    Likes Received:
    665
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try packaging one of the affected accounts via the command line to see if you notice any errors. EX:

    Code:
    /scripts/pkgacct $username
    Also, have you tried using the backup feature in WHM to have the backups generated and sent to the remote server via FTP?

    Thank you.
     
  5. gazza777

    gazza777 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I know that there is nothing wrong with the packaging of the tar files because when I backup to the public_html directly the file is fine.

    I however have too many accounts to do it this way - download and then reupload to new FTP. I need to get the remote FTP server transfer to work.

    I didn't know you can perform a cPanel backup from within WHM? Can you explain how it's done?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,787
    Likes Received:
    665
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Backups as enabled through WHM are documented here:

    Backup Configuration

    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if you want us to take a closer look at why backups generated through cPanel are failing. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page