The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel gone sour!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Planet_Master, Nov 14, 2003.

  1. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    Do not upgrade to Cpanel EDGE 68 or Cpanel RELEASE_69, it kills cpanel and makes it inaccessible!

    If you cannot access Cpanel then set update preference to manual stable and the /scripts/upcp

    This will bring it back



    My Cpanels are really screwed this morning and I usually can fix most problems but even after reading all the threads and trying all the fixes (ie Red Hat stuff as well) I have no FTP access, cannot create new email accounts, cannot change contact information, cannot add new users for say pass protect folders, cannot upload files in file manager....etc

    I am swamped with support emails and honestly I have no idea on what to tell them. It seems where ever information is submitted nothing works.

    Any clues to my problems because I am losing the rest of my hair here! :eek:
     
    #1 Planet_Master, Nov 14, 2003
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2003
  2. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    Ok, in hopes to maybe get a fix I just upcp to the latest release build and I got this error:

    String found where operator expected at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules line 6, near ""Mail::SpamAssassin""
    (Missing semicolon on previous line?)
    syntax error at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules line 6, near ""Mail::SpamAssassin""
    Execution of /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules aborted due to compilation errors.

    I guess I will go with the edge build next...
     
  3. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Sorry about that, its been a bit crazy today. It will be fixed in EDGE 68
     
  4. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    Absolutely no apologies needed, you guys work your butts off and it well appreciated.

    I am still having the same problems
    no file uploads in file manager
    no FTP
    cant add email accounts
    cannot add users for pass protected folders

    can however create subdomains, which is got me nuts.

    The latest RELEASE_69 & EDGE_68 build made Cpanel disappear on my machines. Can no longer connect and tried rebooting but server is dead now. What is the deal!?!?!
    Shouldve stayed in bed this morning....
     
  5. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I just upgraded to edge 68, and cannot launch cpanel.
     
  6. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    Cpanel is dead under EDGE 68 and RELEASE 69! Do not upgrade to these builds!

    I got my server back up and will downgrade to the October Stable build until they can fix all the problems, no more experimenting for me.
     
  7. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    So, if I revert to stable, things will be fixed?
     
  8. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    I am downgrading now and have my fingers crossed. I will let you know the results.
     
  9. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yup, stable brought us back from the dead.

    Perhaps there is a lesson here...
     
  10. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This appears to be the case. At least I only killed one server before I realized these versions were problematic.
     
  11. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    Yes it works! Just set update preference to manual stable and the /scripts/upcp

    I got it back up and will wait this out before I try anymore builds.
     
  12. michael80l

    michael80l Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do i bring it back to stable? I really need help
     
  13. Karateka

    Karateka Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    To bring it back to stable, do this:

    # vi /etc/cpupdate.conf

    If the line isn't there, add it:

    CPANEL=stable

    Then save the file and run /scripts/upcp

    This fixes the problem of cpanel being down. However, I still get this when I try to restart exim:

    # service exim restart
    Shutting down exim: [FAILED]
    Shutting down antirelayd: [ OK ]
    Shutting down spamd: [ OK ]
    Starting exim: /usr/sbin/exim: relocation error: /lib/libdb-4.0.so: undefined symbol: __db_globcl_values
    [FAILED]
    Starting exim-outgoing: /usr/sbin/exim: relocation error: /lib/libdb-4.0.so: undefined symbol: __db_globcl_values
    [FAILED]
    Starting exim-smtps: /usr/sbin/exim: relocation error: /lib/libdb-4.0.so: undefined symbol: __db_globcl_values
    [FAILED]
    Starting antirelayd: [ OK ]
    Starting spamd: [ OK ]
     
  14. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    Easier still would be to set update preferences in WHM to manual stable and then run /scripts/upcp

    No need to edit files. All should work then.
     
  15. Karateka

    Karateka Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, but it's impossible to set this in WHM if whm is already down and won't come up again.
     
  16. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    WHM never went down for us. Just cpanel.
     
  17. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    WHM shouldnt be down, this only effects Cpanel. If you cannot access WHM then your server may have crashed like mine did, contact your supplier or NOC to reboot.
     
  18. MattDr2

    MattDr2 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    Keep in mind, I had tried to recompile the Compress-Zlib package before doing this, but I was still presented with an error when restarting cPanel. The only issue I had was that one. FTP was fine, everything else was fine, just no cPanel. (then again, it's not a production server yet, so there could still be problems)

    I copied a Zlib.so from a different server (functional, to say the least), over the one that didn't work:

    Regards,
    Matt
     
  19. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Same here, no cpanel. Fixed it by downgrading to stable.
     
  20. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    This is ridiculous. After spending 4 hours this morning fixing servers, we've now got to spend another 1+ hours fixing this on a few dozen servers amongst dealing with all of the tickets flooding in.

    A *RELEASE* should NEVER have a problem like this!
     
Loading...

Share This Page