Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel - How To Get Rid Of Database Delete Button?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mingydingy, Apr 11, 2007.

  1. mingydingy

    mingydingy Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    In cPanel version 10 when you click on the 'delete' button in the mysql database section it will delete the database immediately, without a confirmation, pop up or warning of any kind.

    As a result many have accidently deleted databases while trying to perform other tasks on the page.

    Now i heard that cPanel v11 will fix this, however, i don't want to wait until then, it will probably have lots of bugs and my host wont probably have the licenses right away.

    i am about to move my site onto a new server which uses cpanel.

    is there a free patch or something to fix this?

    now i know there is the 'RVSkin' but i don't want a whole new skin, i just want this annoying problem fixed.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'd just like to note that web hosting providers don't need any special licensing or anything to upgrade to cPanel 11. cPanel upgrades are free to anyone with a valid cPanel license. It would basically boil down to your provider's choice to upgrade or not that will determine if/when you get cPanel 11 once it is released.
     
  3. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Without going to cpanel 11, RVskin is about the only solution I can think of.

    If you control the server, you could probably block execution on the button with mod_security, but that's rather ugly, complex and messy!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. mingydingy

    mingydingy Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    thank you cPanelDavidG, i didn't know that.

    i can upgrade to cpanel 11 as soon as it comes out, however, wouldn't it be buggy? should i allow for some time before upgrading?

    brianoz > i do have control over the server (its a VPS solution with cpanel 10) so i can modify the files. there must be a easy solution.
     
  5. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    D'oh - mod_security doesn't run for cpanel, so you're out of luck there. You might be able to add a redirect rule or something for that URL in cpanel. Or just delete the file it is submitting to. Or use RVskin and delete the option from the menu.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice