The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel in Virtuozzo able for a failover or backup or redundant service.

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by palav0s, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. palav0s

    palav0s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    I'm running cPanel in a Virtuozzo environment.
    I guess that Virtuozzo offers some kind of redundancy (maybe not?).

    Does anyone knows if I'm able to use a failover. backup or a redundant service that is offered via Virtuozzo to cPanel in order to minimize downtime in failures ?

    Thank you.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

    There are no native features with cPanel/WHM that support redundancy for services other than DNS. I have moved this over to our "Data Protection" forum for you where you may receive more input on this topic. Also, feel free to add your input to the following feature request:

    Load Balancing

    Thank you.
     
  3. palav0s

    palav0s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Michael,

    I'm aware that cPanel doesn't offer support for redundant services.

    However the point of this thread is how feasible/able cPanel is to use redundant services offered by Virtuozzo.

    Thank you for your reply.
     
    #3 palav0s, Aug 2, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2012
  4. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,

    It should work, I know a lot of folks who do it with Xen and it works. The principle is simple with how vz does it.

    Thanks!
     
  5. palav0s

    palav0s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Eric,

    Could you be more specific. How can I ask this function from a host ?

    Thank you for your reply.
     
  6. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,

    I can't really get into the specifics for vz/openvz. I haven't admin'd that since 2005 or so. But the concept is having a just in time snapshot you can rever to on another hardware server.

    Thanks!
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Any snapshot taken using OpenVZ or Virtuozzo would work to restore a VPS node to the state it was when the snapshot was taken.

    The original question on whether this would work or cPanel is yes as others in this thread have already noted. It does work for cPanel to use a snapshot to restore the environment for the VPS node.

    As for the question on how to do this, you would need to ask your provider or the provider of the system you are using (Virtuozzo being Parallels, OpenVZ being openvz.org).
     
Loading...

Share This Page