The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Install Problem On VPS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jjmalloy3, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. jjmalloy3

    jjmalloy3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is the first time I have come across this problem.

    I recently bought a VPS with CentOS 5.0 Installed on it.

    I went to install cPanel and everything weng great until.. Optimizing VPS.

    When it came to that step it seems that it isn't responding.

    I have being waiting 5 hours now and all it is saying is Optimizing VPS ...+..+++++++++++++++++++++++++ etc........

    I tried several times on a clean server each time but still no luck.

    Does anyone have a cure for this problem?

    Thanks

    - Jason
     
  2. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  3. jjmalloy3

    jjmalloy3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 770 615 425 0 75 235
    -/+ buffers/cache: 254 496
    Swap: 996 0 996
     
  4. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What perl version are you using? We had [thread=124689]problems with cpan during installation[/thread]. Make sure you're running perl 5.8.8 and try installing cpan manually before the installation.
     
  5. jjmalloy3

    jjmalloy3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I will try that thanks :P

    - Jason
     
  6. jjmalloy3

    jjmalloy3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just noticed I already installed CPAN.

    So is there anything else I can do cause it's still the same
     
  7. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'd say check that gcc is properly installed also, but if your installer is getting that far, I assume it is. CentOS 5.0 is relatively old, you could try updating your kernel/OS to the latest version of CentOS (5.4 IIRC). Beyond that, it's probably about time to submit a ticket with cPanel.
     
  8. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How much memory does your VPS have?

    You really need a minimum of 512M of memory for Cpanel itself to run somewhat effectively and I really recommend a baseline of 768M.

    Now regarding installing Cpanel, usually a little prep work is in order and I sometimes use this little script to get basic things out of the way which mainly kills the default CentOS firewall filters and sets up basic base components that will needed later:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    IFS="$"
    
    if [ -f /etc/sysconfig/iptables ]; then
       rm -f /etc/sysconfig/iptables
       service iptables restart
    fi
    
    yum -y install traceroute whois coreutils binutils yum-utils make gcc gcc-* mlocate glibc* openssl openssh libmcrypt libgcrypt dialog screen mailx bzip2 zip arj tar wget lynx
    yum -y upgrade
    cd /root
    wget -nc -T30 http://layer1.cpanel.net/latest-dnsonly
    chmod 700 ./latest
    ./latest
    
    You will probably want to do a little follow up after install:
    After this you'll want to login to WHM and run the setup wizard and then you can begin the fun of configuring your new Cpanel installation.
     
    #8 Spiral, Apr 29, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2010
  9. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ADDENDUM NOTE: The 'wget' line in the last post should actually end with "latest" instead of "latest-dnsonly'

    (Difference is whether you want full cpanel or just a "DNS Only" server)
     
  10. cpane1

    cpane1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey, check this out if you still facing the same problem.

    Installing cpanel on a VPS requires the below applications installed on your VPS.
    This is installed when you setup your VPS.

    1) Development Tools
    (the os devel tool)

    2) mysql-as4
    MySQL is a multi-user, multi-threaded SQL database server. 4.1.20

    3) php-as4
    The PHP HTML-embedded scripting language.

    Install the above Applications as per your OS and then setup your VPS.
    You should the be able to install cPanel on your VPS....
     
Loading...

Share This Page