The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel install: temporary failure in name resolution

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mojamoi, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. mojamoi

    mojamoi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am trying to install cPanel and I get the error:
    when I do wget cpanel -- command
    error:
    temporary failure in name resolution
     
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That means that the resolvers listed in /etc/resolv.conf do not work. /etc/resolv.conf should contain a list of nameservers that are used to resolve domains that your server does not host to IP addresses. They have nothing to do with the nameservers you will eventually host; they are only for resolving domains that are not hosted on the server, to IP addresses. If you do not have working resolvers in /etc/resolv.conf, then anything that needs to resolve a domain name to an IP address, such as wget, will fail.

    Many hosting providers host resolvers for their customers to use. Ask your hosting provider which resolvers should be listed in /etc/resolv.conf. They should be able to help you. As a last resort, you can add the following to the beginning of /etc/resolv.conf:

    Code:
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    Those are Google's Public DNS resolvers, and they are free to use. It is really better, though, to ask your hosting provider which resolvers you should use, and put those in /etc/resolv.conf.
     
  3. mojamoi

    mojamoi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    for a vps what can we put there
    can we list all the IPs inside the server as nameserver IPs
    say
    nameserver 2.3.4.5
    nameserver 34.34.3.2
     
  4. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I tried to explain this in my previous reply, but I will try again in a different way. I hope this helps you understand.

    /etc/resolv.conf is not for your nameservers. It has nothing to do with the nameservers you are going to host.

    You need to talk to your data center about what IP addresses to list in /etc/resolv.conf.

    Do not list any IP addresses that are on your server in /etc/resolv.conf. That is not what it is for. It has nothing to do with the nameservers you are going to host on your own server. It is only for resolving domains that your server does not host. You should not list any IP addresses on your server, in that file.
     
  5. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No. That is not what it is for. Ask your data center what resolver IP addresses you should use, and put those in /etc/resolv.conf.

    Please understand that the purpose of /etc/resolv.conf is to have a list of nameservers that your server uses, to look up domains it does not host. It has nothing to do with the domains or nameservers that you host on your server. You should not list your own nameservers, because your own nameservers will not look (normally) up domains that they do not host.

    As I explained in my previous reply, talk to your data center and ask if they provide resolvers for you to list in /etc/resolv.conf. If they do not, use the Google Public DNS nameservers that I mentioned in my previous reply. Do not list your own IP addresses; that is not what that file is for.
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I apologize, but I just noticed this:

    Is that literally what you are typing? Are you typing "wget cpanel -- command"? That will not work, and it would definitely cause an error from the wget command. That may be the whole problem - there may be nothing wrong with your resolvers.

    Here is what you need to do to install cPanel:

    Step 6: Install cPanel & WHM (or cPanel DNSONLY)

    It is presented in a simple step-by-step format with commands you can copy and paste.

    If you are literally entering "wget cpanel -- command", that is not correct at all. Where did you see to run that, to install cPanel? If you got that from anything on our site or in our documentation, we need to fix it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page