Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED cPanel installation question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by upulps, Mar 17, 2017.

Tags:
  1. upulps

    upulps Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I need to install whm cpanel and keep all the content on separate disk.
    web root / log files etc.. Because if need to update cpanel or when proceed maintenance
    it should be installed another new cpanel server and attache data disk that running on current server. How this is fulfill.

    Thanks,
     
  2. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well your query is quite confusing , can you more elaborate with what exactly you are trying to do please
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    Are you referring to keeping /home on a seperate server? Not sure I'd recommend it but if you were using NFS, you could just mount /home using NFS, but you may want to go into much more detail on what you are trying to do.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    upulps likes this.
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Unfortunately, moving over the /home directory to a new server in the event the hard drive fails or the filesystem is corrupted won't correctly restore the accounts. Generally, you'd need to install cPanel on the new server, and restore the accounts from backup. Thus, one option to consider is to setup a separate drive or partition that's used to store the account backup files. This way, you could move them to the new server and restore them if needed:

    Backup Configuration - Documentation - cPanel Documentation
    Backup Configuration FAQ - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    upulps likes this.
  5. upulps

    upulps Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    This is exactly correct regarding my question. I need to keep /home directory as separate.
    Thank you very much you all. I was advised by you.

    Thank you.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice