The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel invalid login for new user just created

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mike_ACC, Sep 10, 2016.

1. Mike_ACC

Mike_ACC Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I suspect this issue is due to my extreme naivety as this is my first attempt to set things up with a WHM / cPanel environment so apologies if this is blindingly obvious to real people. A dev / VPS host set up the basic system for us and it is working fine for some time for the main production environments. So far so good.

Yesterday, I wanted to set up a reseller environment separate from the main environment to do some webhosting. With the dev's help, we setup a new Reseller Account in WHM. That seems to work so I accessed the cPanel for the Reseller and that seems to work also. First task, setup a User and there it is in User Manager. So I logout of cPanel and try to login as the new User and I get The login is invalid. Today, I deleted that User and tried again and same result.

Since then I have tried to find a "get started" resource, accessed the documentation (which assumes a high level of prior knowledge) and read the sticky in this forum.

I'm baffled and would appreciate someone pointing out where I'm going wrong or a suggestion to a dummies' guide. The task is I have a working WHM / cPanel system set up by someone else. I want to setup within that a Reseller (who can maintain up to 10 small hobby websites) and within that, one User who has "bought" a webhosting account from that Reseller and has a single website they want to maintain.

Working out why the login for the User I set up is invalid would be a start!

Thanks in advance, Mike

2. dalem

dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    #2 dalem, Sep 10, 2016