The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel is APC compatible?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kent Brockman, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi, I'm testing different ways to improve the php performance in order to host several Wordpress blogs in the same VPS.

    I've reading about using Alternate PHP Cache (APC), to run the scripts as opcodes, which "is supposed" to dramatically accelerate the results displayed, reducing the load in the server.
    http://ar2.php.net/manual/en/book.apc.php

    APC is a PECL that may be downloaded thru the PECL Module Installer in WHM. My question is if installing this module is a risky operation that may lead to conflicts with some other processes. So, I would like to receive some feedback about experiences and confirmation of compatibility of cPanel with this module. Should I take anything in account when installing this?

    I'm running WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.4-S26138 with CENTOS Enterprise 4.6 i686 on virtuozzo

    Thanks.
     
    #1 Kent Brockman, Aug 3, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2008
  2. viraj

    viraj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    #2 viraj, Aug 3, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2008
  3. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, I readed that if using APC, one should get rid of Zend or eAccelerator. I really don't know to what extent is this true, but some advice from the staff will be great. :)

    That links are great but for what I see in my WHM, the APC PECL may be installed via WHM. I just don't want to make a big mistake.
     
    #3 Kent Brockman, Aug 3, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2008
  4. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi there, I'm revisiting this question since I'm planning to use a cache scripts that accelerates the processes, using APC. I want to know if anybody has implemented APC and if it's safe to use with the last Stable cPanel version.

    Also, I ask if whenever I recompile Apache and PHP, some APC setting may be affected/lost.

    Any advice? :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page