The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel is showing blank page, WHM loads fine

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Valetia, Dec 17, 2003.

  1. Valetia

    Valetia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Happening with the x skin. Just hangs forever and shows a white screen.

    Tried changing to iconic, and the top frame loads, but bottom frame hangs with white screen.

    Did the following:

    /scripts/upcp
    /scripts/updatenow
    service cpanel restart

    Still happening. Hang only happens to one machine, the rest working fine - all machines running latest release.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. hjg

    hjg Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    Cpanel no starting

    I have the same problem with a couple of servers we manage. Cpanel doesn't load, WHM comes up fine. A cpanel restart from the shell just sits and sits and ....... Waiting with crossed hands for someone to post updates.
     
  3. hostedzone

    hostedzone Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Those sound like two different problems. The first one sounds simply like a theme issue.

    If you right click on the white/blank page you will probably get some html consisting of a page with nothing between the <body> and </body> tag. This seems to be a common issue recently with X and X2. Bluelagoon and Iconic seem fine, but my X and X2 do that as well.
     
  4. Valetia

    Valetia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Then why does it work on all machines except one...:(

    It may show up like that, but doesn't mean that html code is from Cpanel.

    It could just be that the browser's blank page has not been cleared yet, since Cpanel's page can't be loaded.

    Just go to a new blank browser window and view source without loading any URL.

    Iconic only loads the top frame for me and monsoon (new name for bluelagoon) doesn't load at all, just like x.
     
  5. Custom-Hosting

    Custom-Hosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Anyone have the fix for this?
    Im having the exact same problem now
     
  6. Elliot

    Elliot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am currently not having this problem. Everyone should probably post their cpanel version so Bdrako can help you :)
     
  7. Custom-Hosting

    Custom-Hosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    8.5.4 R72 here
     
  8. Elliot

    Elliot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    WHM 8.5.4 cPanel 8.5.5-E16
    here try updating if you dont have a bunch of clients, I haven't had any problems with this build
    Change Update Preferences -> Automatic (bleeding EDGE tree)
    then run Cpanel update through WHM or
    bash: /scripts/upcp

    but then again, i am not an expert this might not fix your problem ...
     
  9. Custom-Hosting

    Custom-Hosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ok thanks for the help :)
    Trying updating cpanel through SSH now sohopefully that might help.
    Thanks for taking time to help me
    Jonh
     
  10. Custom-Hosting

    Custom-Hosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks Gordy.
    After a good bit of looking around I finally found the problem.
    It was related to something else which I didnt really need before (Well thought so) since it was a new server with only a test account.

    The MySQL root password had to be set but I think WHM has problems with this, had to do it all through SSH but once I done that the skins are all fully working now

    If anyone gets this problem just do the following:

    -Login as root

    -Stop MYSQL server

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql stop

    -Restart safe_mysqld with the skip-grant-tables

    /usr/bin/safe_mysqld -Sg &

    -Start MySql as root

    mysql -u root -p mysql

    -Hit enter when it asks for password

    -Set a new password for root

    update user set password=password("new_password") where user='root';

    flush privileges;

    quit

    -Then restart mysql

    /sbin/service mysql restart


    That will sort it out for you

    Thanks
    John
     
  11. IronMug

    IronMug Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hmmm, i guess my problem is similar but not quite the same.

    started off with 8.5.3R?? and manually updated via WHM to 8.5.4R72, at that moment, skins "x" & "x2" returned blank pages only for each of the accounts on my system. The most interesting thing is that when I switched one account to bluelagoon, it resolved with xSkin. I'm unsure how to move forward as everything else seems to be working fine.

    Redhat 9 - kernel 2.4.20-24.9
    Current build: 8.5.5-E33

    Still have same symptoms after trying everything mentioned.
    Is there some way to completely refresh my skins and any config files that may point at them?

    Thanks
     
  12. IronMug

    IronMug Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    n/m, i reverted back to 8.5.3-S3 and all is well...
     
  13. rispbiz

    rispbiz Registered

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cpanel Showing Blank Screen Fix!

    I had the same problem and logged in to the WHM and upgraded to the lastest stable version and problem was fixed.

    Hope this Helps!
     
  14. sfxx

    sfxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I updated to WHM 9.2.0 cPanel 9.2.0-S25, and now I can't access cpanel.
    I can access WHM fine.

    When I try to restart cpanel manually by typing "service cpanel restart", it looks good.

    Starting eximstats: [ OK ]
    Starting cPanel services: [ OK ]
    Starting cPanel Log services: [ OK ]
    Starting pop3 services: [ OK ]
    Starting cPanel Chat services:
    Starting Melange Chat services:
    Starting cPanel ssl services: [ OK ]
    Starting mailman services: Starting Mailman's master qrunner.

    However, cpanel (both http, and https) won't showup.

    Has anyone encountered a problem like this?

    Thank you.
     
  15. rispbiz

    rispbiz Registered

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Fix I Found

    I had this same problem. I clicked on a link in the cpanel that said it need an update. For some reason it didnt finish right.

    In the WHM I went to the cpanel links and clicked on update to lastest stable version. This time the update went ok and everything was fixed.

    Hope this helps.
     
  16. sfxx

    sfxx Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, rispbiz.
    It worked!
     
Loading...

Share This Page