The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel just updated on its own ???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nyjimbo, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    My cpanel/whm just did what appears to be a manual update all by itself about 45 minutes ago.

    Has anyone else seen this today ?

    :confused:
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    manual update all by itself ? Do u have some support guys working on any issues inside the server ?
     
  3. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    No, I am the only one. The machines are here in-house and I was sitting here and got an email from the server saying that /scripts/upcp just ran like it was the normal 2:30am (or whatever).

    Nothing weird on the system, nothing odd running, /tmp looks ok, "last" on the console shows nothing. Just looks like a forced upcp was just run around 10:30 eastern time (NY).
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    check the cron.. mayb anyone of the cron had called up the upcp.
     
  5. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Yup, thats it.

    the cron log shows cron ran /scripts/upcp for the first time today at 10:30pm instead of its normal 2:10-2:30.

    /usr/bin/crontab shows the upcp entry to trigger 22:30 local time.

    Wonder why they changed it.
     
  6. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    it musn't have changed automatically. it must have that u have made a change at the WHM and while reversing it.. the change was not reflected at the cron.

    nyway.. Happy Digging. :)
     
  7. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Nope, that would be the first thing I would have checked. NOTHING was changed here, besides I dont think we can change what time upcp runs from WHM. If we can I have never seen it.

    The crontab shows a date stamp and message that it was uploaded/changed by the cpanel people.
     
  8. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    so thatz it. you can mail them a question i suppose.
     
  9. JP-HOST

    JP-HOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Roscoe, IL, USA

    The following Cpanel addon will let you change the cron times:
    Name: cronconfig
    Author: cPanel Inc.
    Installed Version: 0.3
    Version: 0.3
    Description: Allows user to edit cPanel cron settings/program run times
    Price: free
     
  10. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    upcp cron time changed on its own

    For over a year now, my upcp script has run at 2:50am. Starting 12/31/04, it changed itself to run at 9:20pm -- one of the BUSIEST times for this server!!

    a) what is going on?
    b) can I just edit the cron to fix it, or will it change itself again?

    - Scott
     
  11. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    After we figured this out I went to WHM and to the ADDON MODULES thing and click on cronconfig and it installed. I then logged out and back in and then at the bottom left of the WHM nav I now see "Configure cPanel Cron Times" and I set it to what I like.

    Its a shame they didnt announce this anywhere (as far as I can tell).
     
  12. gemininetcom

    gemininetcom Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    :eek: Have a similar weird issue.

    1. here scripts/upcp and scripts/cpbackup changed "by some magic finger" from set time of 0500 GMT to 0200 GMT

    2. e-mail scripts/upcp not any more received as from last Wednesday 01/05/2005

    3. the BIGGGG and NAsty surprise came on last Saturday 01/08/2005: our WHM Update Config was DEFINITELY set to STABLE (!!!) 'cause we are verrrry conservative, but now found "some other magic funger" changed it to CURRENT !!!

    :) Were running Linux STABLE 9.9.9-STABLE_15 (Sun Dec 12 23:44:32 2004)

    :mad: Now UNVOLONTARILY running Linux CURRENT 9.9.9-CURRENT_115 (Sat Jan 8 04:58:48 2005) :: found it on our system already on Friday 01/07/2005. i.e. one day before official date !!!!

    :D If somebody has a smart idea, feel obliged and tks.
     
    #12 gemininetcom, Jan 9, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page