Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cpanel license activation?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by silverbirch, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. silverbirch

    silverbirch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I went to update my website today using cpanel and it says server not licensed. Can anyone help with this please?
     
  2. javiercampos

    javiercampos Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    /tmp
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you indicate the exact error or attach a picture?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. silverbirch

    silverbirch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Thank You for installing cPanel / WHM.


    This server is currently not licensed. Please contact the server administrator. Other services available on this server such as web services are likely functioning normally. (Cannot read license file)


    Once the license on this server is active, you will no longer see this message. If you have installed a license since loading this page, click here to reload.


    That's the message - I took a snapshot but can't work out how to insert it unfortunately.

    Thanks
     
  4. javiercampos

    javiercampos Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    /tmp
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That will appear in the file:

    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/license_log

    Like I would recommend applying the following command and enter the result

    /usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. silverbirch

    silverbirch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Sorry - how do I do that? Where do I go when cpanel doesn't open?

    Thanks
     
  6. javiercampos

    javiercampos Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    /tmp
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The commands you must enter them through SSH as root.
    If you do not have root access you must tell your provider the problem.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. silverbirch

    silverbirch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Righto - I don't have access as root, or SSH. I have emailed the webhosting company. I assume that's the people to contact?

    Thanks for your responses.
     
  8. javiercampos

    javiercampos Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    /tmp
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you should contact your hosting provider company.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice