Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel licenses on 2 different Vms on a Dedicated server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Rohan Bhajekar, Jul 4, 2018.

  1. Rohan Bhajekar

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Burlington ON
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi there,

    I am planning to achieve following setup for my cpanel servers. Currently i have 2 dedicated servers with cPanel licenses. I am planning to create 2 VMs on a 3rd server and get 2 seperate licenses for those VMs. I am curious if by any means i can transfer my 2 licenses to these VMs. Will vitual box work in this situation ?

    So current setup is
    Dedicated server 1 + cPanel
    Dedicated server 2 + cPanel

    What i want to achieve
    Dedicated server 3, 2 VMs + 2 cPanel licenses

    Help is really appreciated. TIA
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,679
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    if you mean will your dedicated cpanel licenses work on a VM?
    Yes they will work just fine.

    Just not the other way around VM licenses on a Dedicated
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. RadWebHosting

    RadWebHosting Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    You should re-license your VM's as opposed to trying to keep the Dedicated licenses, if I am understanding correctly...

    You will save money, and cPanel software has a high awareness level of incorrect license type.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Rohan Bhajekar

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Burlington ON
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Will i be able to migrate the entire dedicated servers with all existing accounts onto the new VMs ? Just dont want to create everything from scratch.
     
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes that shouldn't be a problem, the transfer tool should be able to do this for you. Transfer Tool - Version 72 Documentation - cPanel Documentation
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice