The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel logging time slow

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mpregent, Mar 8, 2005.

  1. mpregent

    mpregent Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've been experience slow log in time into cPanel these last few days.

    Its taking at least a minute to log in instead of just a few seconds like it usually does. When I type http://www.domain.com/cpanel, it loads fine...it just hangs for a very long time when i try to login..and then its fine again once im logged in.

    I've open a support ticket with cPanel but they havent been able to solve the problem yet.

    Has anyone experienced this problem or is experiencing it now??

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Matt
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Search this forum. I have seen a couple of threads discussing this problem.
     
  3. mpregent

    mpregent Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've seen a few threads as well but they seems just to go in a loop and no actual solution.
    Ideas please??
     
  4. remik

    remik Guest

    the same problem

    hi,

    I am experiencing the same problem. The only solution I found is restarting apache. After that cpanel works fine again. It's not a good solution, though.
    The weird thing is that WHM works ok all the time.
    I couldn't find any reasonable answer to the problem on this forum.
     
    #4 remik, Mar 13, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2005
  5. damiand

    damiand Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same problem

    I am getting the same thing. My customers are all tell me and I have seen it for my self. It takes about 1 to 2 mins for it to login. :mad:
     
  6. aarmstrong

    aarmstrong Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anybody get any resolution on this or know what threads I can read to find a fix? I need this real fast. :)
     
  7. aarmstrong

    aarmstrong Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Looks like running /scripts/upcp fixed the problem for me.
     
  8. remik

    remik Guest

    I have started to use RELEASE version of cpanel instead of STABLE one before. The problem seems to be gone.
     
  9. MediaHound

    MediaHound Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Remember, if your logging into cpanel with the root password, remember there's a form at the top of the page with the dropdown menu, where you can switch to cpanel of another account on the server. Well, that may be the problem your having.
    With a lot of accounts on the box, that query and data transfer takes some time.
    Try logging into cpanel with the users password, not the root pw.

    hope that helps

    ;)
     
  10. rascal2trust

    rascal2trust Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We are haveing the same issues, clients just reported this, and nothing has changed on the servers.

    CentOS 3.3
    WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.0.0-R149

    Whm loads normally, but cpanel takes around to 2 minutes to fully load.

    Loads on the server are normal, staying around 0.20.

    Sure would like to know what is causeing this, just out of the blue.
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I've found that this often works:

    rm -f /etc/passwd.lock

    and then restart cPanel:

    /etc/init.d/cpanel restart
     
  12. jsnape

    jsnape Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same here, customers complaining. It also seems to be isolated to any CPanel page which shows this info:

    Accounts Current Maximum
    Email accounts: 0 unlimited
    Email forwarders: 1
    Autoresponders: 0
    Mailing lists: 1 unlimited
    Spam e-mail filters 0
    FTP accounts 0 unlimited

    Additions
    Addon Domains 0 0
    Subdomains 0 unlimited
    MySQL databases 10 unlimited

    Usage
    Disk usage 599.68 MB
    Disk space available 2400.32 MB
    MySQL usage 4.86 MB
    Bandwidth usage (current month) 4.23 MB

    XController loads fast because it doesn't display that info on the initial login page. But if you try to display that info by clicking "Account Information" link in XController, the two minute hang begins


    edit - /scripts/upcp fixed it for me :)
     
    #12 jsnape, Apr 17, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2005
  13. rascal2trust

    rascal2trust Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes /scripts/upcp and then a cpanel restart fixed it for us also. One thing I did notice is that after running upcp, and then logging into whm, I got the license update from cpanel, so my guess is the slow loading has something to do with the wonder boys at cpanel and another one of their bright ideas, of forceing things into everyones server, I would think that they could have come up with a bette way of doing this, like maybe just putting something in the news and telling people that they had 30 days or whatever to click the link and go to a specified page and agree to the new terms.

    This may have prevented a lot of problems, like the ones we had on some servers that were useing non standard themes, so there was no way to aggree to the terms, and it rendered whm totaly unusable.
     
  14. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    This issue is unrelated to the new terms asit's been going on for some time, probably since the passwd locking was intriduced around the advent of v10.
     
  15. Norman

    Norman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Chripy and all.. I just noticed this is now happening on my server..

    Did a upcp, that didn't work.. removed the passwd.lock and restarted cpanel.. no joy..

    It's taking a good 2 minutes to login.. anyone else have ideas...

    There's no major load.. just takes forever tologin

    Dave
     
  16. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Try removing all the locks:

    rm -fv /etc/*.lock
    service cpanel restart
     
  17. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    I believe this is related to the <cpanel FTP="countftp()"> in the index page. I changed that to <cpanel XFTP="countftp()"> to disable it temporarily and cpanel loaded as fast as usual. Can anyone confirm?
     
  18. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That's what I've seen. You can usually see the hanging cpanel processes while that is happening from the ps output and it's always running something to do with ftp (haven't looked for a while).
     
  19. convenix

    convenix Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    FYI - The only fix for me so far was to remove all of the /etc/*.lock files and restart cpanel. /scripts/upcp only works if you haven't updated in awhile.

    Thanks Chirpy
     
  20. ravid

    ravid Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks guys, this solution worked for me. Now Cpanel and the ftp loads in no time at all :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page