The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel login goes to wrong server?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by canadavenyc, Aug 12, 2013.

  1. canadavenyc

    canadavenyc Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,

    Sort of an odd problem I'm having here--

    I moved my website to another shared hosting. They put me on a server, "niners.domain.com". Soon afterward, I had my hosting account moved to a new server, "alpha.domain.com".

    When I go to any browser (Firefox, Safari, doesn't matter) and try to go to "http://mywebsite.com/cpanel", as I always used to, it still takes me to https://niners.domain.com:2083, where of course my account no longer exists.

    The thing that's confusing me is that if I ping my website, my DNS resolves it to the correct server (alpha). If I go to another computer and try to go to mysite.com/cpanel, I am taken to the correct server, so it's got to be something local to my computer; but yet my DNS resolves to the correct server, as does a traceroute.

    I've cleared my browser cache and deleted cookies with "niners" in their name....but I don't even know why that would have anything to do with it, since it's happening no matter which browser I try.

    Any ideas as to what else I can try?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    650
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. canadavenyc

    canadavenyc Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi--yep, I've done that (sorry, forgot to mention that in my original post). Just tried it again, still no luck.

    It definitely IS something on my computer, though. I just tried it on another computer in my house, and it works fine. I just can't fathom what it could be on my computer though (it's a 2011 Mac laptop btw). Tried DNS cache flush, cleared browser caches, cleared cookies....
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    650
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you checked the "hosts" file on your local machine to see if you have the domain name directly pointed to the previous IP address?

    Thank you.
     
  5. canadavenyc

    canadavenyc Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Nope, nothing in /etc/hosts.

    OMG. Now go figure--I just tried it for the millionth time, after it not working for days, and now all of a sudden it's pointing to the correct server. Wha??

    Well.......hmmm. I'm thrilled, but, not sure what happened there. Anyway, it's working now...sorry for the bother. Wish I knew what fixed it though!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    650
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's likely local DNS cache or browser cache that you were unable to delete attributed to this issue.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page