Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel "Login Invalid", WHM "Login successful"

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HostingGuru, Sep 13, 2012.

  1. HostingGuru

    HostingGuru Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Odense, Denmark, Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    We have a reseller on our server, which for a long time now have only used the reseller-part of his account.
    Now he wanted his own site moved to his reseller account, and I naturally just used his existing account, the reseller account, to put the website on.

    The website is working and accessible, however, he can not log into cPanel.
    He gave me his password, and I tried the following:

    - Logging into WHM, List Accounts and use the cPanel login button on his own account - Login Invaild.
    - Logging into cPanel directly with same username/password combination - Login Invalid
    - Logging into FTP with same username/password combination - Login Invalid

    I reset his password, did several types of login/logout gymnastics, changed owner of his own account, etc.

    This type of setup works perfectly for other resellers.

    Any clues?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If I understand you correctly, it seems to me all that you'd have had to do was change the owner of the account, from you, to his Reseller. Could you clarify what you mean by this:

     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. HostingGuru

    HostingGuru Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Odense, Denmark, Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I did change the account owner without luck.

    What I mean is, that his cPanel account has never really been used until now.
    Only the WHM part was used, and he would have subclients. He did not own his own account back then.

    What we did now was to zip up his website, move it over to his cPanel account, and got it working there.
    So his website is successfully hosted on the same cPanel account, we can't log in to (except for root override).
     
  4. jrianto

    jrianto Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    When you are creating a new account and making that account a reseller, there is an option Make the account own itself (i.e., the user can modify the account).

    Maybe checking that box will help?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If that still isn't working, please check /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log on trying to log into the cPanel account directly as that user to see the results. Please post any error message here.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice