The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel login issue / username not being seen by cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by diesel12, Apr 19, 2012.

  1. diesel12

    diesel12 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hiya,

    We have a user that is unable to login to cPanel, the vast majority (100% ??) of the time this is a password issue, but in their case, the error they get is "You must specify a username to login". They are in fact, putting in a user name and even if they did have an incorrect user name and or password, the error message would be different then what they are receiving....

    We're also seeing the lack of username showing up in our logs: [04/18/2012:19:59:23 -0000] "POST /login/?login_only=1 HTTP/1.1" FAILED LOGIN cpaneld: user name not specified

    The client cleared all cache and cookies in IE9, we had them try Firefox and we whitelisted their IP in our firewall ...

    Anyone have any ideas on what might prevent cPanel from seeing a username when it is clearly being put in ?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Don't do that for anyone. IMHO.

    In WHM:

    WHM > Server Configuration > Tweak Settings, Security tab is the option "Allow autocomplete in login screens." is this set to On?
    You might try forcing an update to cPanel as well just to make sure there's no issues on the cPanel side of things.

    WHM > cPanel > Upgrade to Latest Version, tick the box that says: "Force a reinstall even if the system is up to date. "
     
  3. diesel12

    diesel12 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you, will give that a shot!

    Regarding whitelisting ... is it a good idea as a general best practice to not whitelist? By whitelist, I mean we've added them as a safe ip in configserver ....
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Correct. Don't do that. there are several IPs needed to be in there for cPanel Technical Support to get in safely. But not needed until you put in a ticket to them. When you do they show you the IPs they want you to whitelist in advance. You can remove those if you like, afterward.

    You want your own IP(s) in there. Office and home.

    You want your other servers IPs in here if they need to speak to each other.

    But you never want a users IP in here for any reason. If a user is getting blocked, there's a reason for that you need to figure out. If a user is having trouble logging in, you need to figure that out too. Setting them to bypass doesn't solve any issues, it bypasses them.

    If that user had an infected computer trying to get into your cPanel server (it happens!) and you've given him bypass rights in your firewall, well, I think you can guess whats coming next. More trouble.
     
Loading...

Share This Page