Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel login with correct password fails

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by stealthlainry, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. stealthlainry

    stealthlainry Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hey guys!
    I'm new to this forum but not really new to cPanel.
    It's already some 5 years I'm the web hosting administrator at our company and I operate 3 cPanel/whm servers but the problem I describe now was never noticed by me, nor could find anything sensible by googling.
    Well, here we go.

    A customer contacted support saying he cannot log into cPanel, although can log into ftp.
    He also sent his username and password and boom! I cannot login to cPanel also but CAN login to ftp or webmail.
    I tried logging into his cpanel using root password - it went OK. I saw "last login" with his IP address, so, he managed to log in before at least once.
    I also tried to change his password while logged in as himself (but with root password) and giving his password in "old password" field. Password changed, but with new password login to cPanel also fails (ftp and webmail again work fine)
    His account is quite new, so, I believe no server upgrades took place which could affect his account.
    Does anyone have a logical explanation for this?
    Would very much appreciate any help!
    Ed
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,585
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Try changing the password from within WHM instead.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. NovemberRain

    NovemberRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    İstanbul
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Suspend the account and then unsuspend it again. Now it should work.
     
  4. RizyDeWino

    RizyDeWino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    The solution given by NovemberRain should work , it has always worked for me. Though as far as the logical explanation for this is concerned , see if any cpanel guys have it :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. stealthlainry

    stealthlainry Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hi again!
    >Infopro
    Changing password from WHM did not help
    >NovemberRain
    It worked for me, thanks a lot!

    BTW, when suspending from WHM, I notices a message "Account is already suspended".
    May be this is a part of the logical explanation. I assume the account was somehow "partially" suspended, so, ftp and webmail "thought" it's active, but cPanel was sure it's not.

    Thanks again!
     
  6. NovemberRain

    NovemberRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    İstanbul
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, this is the logical explanation :) Cpanel has this kind of "partially" done actions :) For example I moved hundreds of accounts to a new server recently, with the whm multi account transfer tool. Transfers went ok but, cpanel put the custom index.htm that was created by me in the skelaton directory into each transferred account's public_html directory. So all my customers thought their hosting was deleted completey because what they saw when they go to their site was something like "your hosting account has been created" page :) Cpanel acted like the account was being created the first time.
     
  7. bmchunu

    bmchunu Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    This needs to be stickied somewhere .. helped me too :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice