The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel maintenance is already running?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by arhs, May 27, 2011.

  1. arhs

    arhs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I am getting the following message when trying to update cPanel.

    [20110527.083824] 0% complete [20110527.083824] Detected cron=0 (manual flag passed on command line) [20110527.083824] E cPanel maintenance is already running. Please wait for the previous maintenance to complete, or kill off all maintenance processes and try again.

    I have tried killall -9 upcp and nothing happens.
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Look for a process named maintenance. In 11.30 many of the tasks formerly performed by upcp are now handled by one of several different scripts. These scripts are run as child processes of upcp. updatenow and maintenance are two such scripts.
     
  3. arhs

    arhs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Got it working now. Thanks :)
     
  4. PenguinInternet

    PenguinInternet Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I've just had this issue and gone around in circles trying to find a maintenance process that didn't exist. It turns out that the update script appears to only be looking for the word maintenance anywhere in the process list and got caught by:

    /usr/lib/courier-imap/bin/imapd /home/someuser/mail/someusermaintenance.co.uk/mailuser

    Obviously full details replaced for privacy. Once the process was killed the upgrade proceeded. Can you raise this as a bug Kenneth or should I do this via a ticket?
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    case 50290 has been opened to track this.
     
  6. stdout

    stdout Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just experienced the same problem.
    A user's PHP process contained "maintenance" in it's name - cPanel was failing to update.
    I had to kill it off in order to "upcp". I just hope the script doesn't impact our customer's website in any way.

    I had a similar issue yesterday where I started a screen session titled "easyapache" (for the client's convenience) - the easyapache script wouldn't start because cPanel thought easyapache was already running.

    Please use more specific process checks.
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Cases 50290 and 50298 (the backport for 11.30) should already have been resolved. The 50298 case was built for 11.30.0.27 or higher. If you are still having this happening when "maintenance" is in a PHP process name, please submit a ticket for us to investigate this further.
     
Loading...

Share This Page