The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPanel migration without Downtime

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by V-ICE, May 27, 2010.

  1. V-ICE

    V-ICE Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Been looking around for some solution for my problem.


    the goal is to physically move Server 1 to another location.
    For that i have a temp server on site.

    Got 2 Servers (like everybody else)

    Server 1 - colocation
    Server 2 - On Site

    So i was thinking moving all datat from server 1 to server 2. and when the physically move of server 1 i done, i would move back from server 2 to server 1.


    Tried the "Copy multiple accounts/packages from another server"
    but due to the excessive use of email, i've got 7GB+ to transer in 5 accounts, where 1 account is 5GB+ and another is 2GB+ , the 2 accounts with the most important mails..


    1. I'm worried about loosing e-mails during the transfer.

    2. tried to move it this night, no problems moving, but when i pointed the DNS to Server 2, the website wasn't working.


    I do not have too deep linux experience.
    some step-by-step would be great.

    Any suggestions how to resolve this painless ?


    /James

    ----- Edit
    Allt the DNSing are on another server.
     
    #1 V-ICE, May 27, 2010
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  2. serlex

    serlex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Are the websites working via the IP? Is the new/old IPs routing properly?
     
  3. thewebhostingdi

    thewebhostingdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It might be a DNS propagation issue. You can try to run your site using the temporary URL and have a try. The temporary URL should be http://IP address/~username.
     
Loading...

Share This Page