The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel + MySQL 4.0.13 = Corrupted databases?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GFED, Jul 9, 2003.

  1. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is this a bug with mySQL or Cpanel?

    I had problems a few weeks ago with mySQL databases getting corrupted on my new server at XXX...

    Someone helped my diagnose and fix it by adjusting a higher setting for my mySQL connections... from 500 to 5000...

    it helped... and the databases quit corrupting as much... a couple have a few days ago and yesterday... so I upped my max connections to 10000 to see if it helps...

    I haven't seen any other posts about this... am I the only one having problems with them?

    +++

    Several people have told me that this is a problem with the new version of mySQL + Cpanel

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    What version of cPanel are you using?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM 6.4.2
    Cpanel 6.4.2-S75
    RedHat 7.3

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. carlgm

    carlgm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England, UK
    hi,

    do this in root SSH and copy and paste what it outputs.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Are the databases that are being corrupted always the same? Are the databases being manipulated with PHP?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No, and yes. :)




    carlgm, what does cat /etc/my.cnf do?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    oh, my.cnf file contains this...


    [mysqld]
    set-variable = max_connections=10000

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. carlgm

    carlgm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England, UK
    okay then, this is min requirement for mysql 4:

    Firstly delete it:
    then reopen it in pico:
    copy and paste:
    then save:
    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you carlgm! I will see if this stops all the corruptions of my DBs!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    nope... I just had to repair another database... :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. NeutralGold

    NeutralGold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    stop - start mysql?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #11 NeutralGold, Jul 10, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2003
  12. carlgm

    carlgm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    England, UK
    I knew I forgot something.

    After you have changed it do this

    Now, that config is bare min and I would suggest having more options defined withih your /etc/my.cnf config file.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'll see if this helps... thanks again!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    this is still happening, does anyone know how to fix it? :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Hire a system admin.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. advisor

    advisor Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    to solve your problem downgrade mysql to version 3 from whm>tweack settings

    that's it

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I downgraded to v3... thanks for your help, but seems to be a bug with mySQL or Cpanel from what I'm told...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page