The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel Noobie

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lulah, Dec 3, 2004.

  1. lulah

    lulah Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello Everyone,
    i am a new user to cpanel, I do not know anything about it, I have read the cpanel user guide, and still am confused....
    Can you all please help me!!
    Firstly, when I enter my domain name (www.lulah.id.au:2082) I get this page cannot be displayed msg....my webhost sent me an email telling me that it takes 24-72hrs for WWW to acknowledge my site, but that was 2 weeks ago, and i still cant see it.
    I do not know anything about php, cgi, perl, linux, oscommerce...etc
    I DO know how to write HTML, if that is any consellation, I also have been using a program called ecommpro in windows.
    I would like to set up a shopping cart on my site...and I have managed to install OsCommerce on the server...(i think)
    But I have noticed in some of the threads that this file (httpd.conf) has been mentioned, could anyone please tell me where to find it??? I think that is where i may need to start from??? Your help would be greatly appreciated
    thank you all in advance
    Kylie :confused:
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    the domain www.lulah.id.au has currently an ip address of 0.0.0.0.

    Ask your host to correct your DNS; to the correct one if they have registered the domain foryou. else you will need to change it to the nameserver to the correct ones by modifying the nameservers at your registrar.

    since you do have the server root ; you will not have access to the httpd.conf and as far as i can see; it is suggested that you get someone experienced to install the OScommerce on your website.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If your web host is not providing you with support to such questions, then you really, seriously, should be moving to one that actually does.
     
  4. lulah

    lulah Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have contacted my hosting company, but it takes a while for them to reply to emails, and since i use other forums quite often, i thought maybe this forum would be able to help me get started, as forums tend to help in layman's terms
     
  5. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    From my location, it appears as if your domain has properly propogated. I can view your oscommerce default page by accessing http://www.lulah.id.au and also receive a cpanel authentication/login screen when atttempting to access http://www.lulah.id.au:2082

    That said, the httpd.conf file can only be modified by a superuser/server admin. If the modification needed is simply a run-time directive configuration change, chances are that you could override the server default by placing the appropriate directive in an .htaccess file in your public_html folder (or your oscommerce folder).
     
  6. lulah

    lulah Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    this is what is showing in my .htaccess, can you tell me where i am supposed to overide the option?

    $Id: .htaccess,v 1.3 2003/06/12 10:53:20 hpdl Exp $
    #
    # This is used with Apache WebServers
    #
    # For this to work, you must include the parameter 'Options' to
    # the AllowOverride configuration
    #
    # Example:
    #
    #
    # AllowOverride Options
    #
    #
    # 'All' with also work. (This configuration is in the
    # apache/conf/httpd.conf file)

    # The following makes adjustments to the SSL protocol for Internet
    # Explorer browsers



    SetEnvIf User-Agent ".*MSIE.*" \
    nokeepalive ssl-unclean-shutdown \
    downgrade-1.0 force-response-1.0



    # Fix certain PHP values
    # (commented out by default to prevent errors occuring on certain
    # servers)

    #
    # php_value session.use_trans_sid 0
    # php_value register_globals 1
    #



    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.$
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ ^/index$ [R=301,L]
     
Loading...

Share This Page