The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel not reporting mailman space usage

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by jvanschaack, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. jvanschaack

    jvanschaack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Not sure if this was brought up before as I did a quick search but did not find anything.

    We recently migrated a lot of accounts from a few servers to newer ones and had some issues. One account in particular would not transfer no matter what so we dugg deeper to figure out why.

    This account was a resellers account however needed to be transfered. cpanel and WHM were reporting it has 200megs in size so space was not an issue. Nothing else looked wrong.

    What we found was mailman mailing list that had archives enabled. Inside of these were 1.5GB worth of attachments. After manually deleting these files we were abel to successfully transfer the account.

    My question is why is this usage not reported by cpanel or even shown somewhere in WHM for ease of reference??
     
  2. AlexV.

    AlexV. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    remcomnet:

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    We are currently looking into it and potentially crafting a resolution to this matter.
     
  3. AlexV.

    AlexV. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
  4. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Not trying to bump this post by any means, but was going crazy the last couple of days as multiple accounts on my server suddenly when into Disk Space allocation issues.

    It would appears as per the Bug Report that this issue is now fixed as I have been removing archive files all morning to try and get these accounts to acceptable disk space usage.

    "Search and you just might find"

    CJ
     
    #4 cjmwebdesigns, Dec 19, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  5. ukwiz

    ukwiz Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How did you manage to remove the archive files through cPanel?
     
  6. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I didn't. I was in through root and removed the files from the folders manually. It was a little dirty, but since no one that is using the archive feature I knew it was OK.

    I need to review how to disable the Archive now, if possible, since no one uses it and I don't need it eating up space.
     
  7. jvanschaack

    jvanschaack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It looks like this was solved in the new 11.25 release.

    However remembering back when we had this issue. We had to manually copy these accounts using the full backup feature instead of the transfer wizard. Some we did trim the attachments prior to move when customer said it was okay. In case others have this issue and cannot upgrade yet.
     
  8. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In the mailing list administration
    Archiving Options Section
    Change "Archive messages? " to no.
    Hit "Submit your changes"

    Ron
     
Loading...

Share This Page