The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel not working but whm does...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by senoj2k, Apr 4, 2006.

  1. senoj2k

    senoj2k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  2. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    What is the error when you visit cPanel?
    Also check for errors(if any) in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log while restarting the cpanel service.
     
  3. senoj2k

    senoj2k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks for the quick reply ive been trying to get things working allday long

    basicly if you try and access cpanel it self you get The page cannot be displayed

    i cannot view that folder btw /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log i can get as far as /usr/local/cpanel/ :( :confused:
     
    #3 senoj2k, Apr 4, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2006
  4. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Do you have any firewall on the server, make sure that port 2082 and 2083 is open on your server.

    I would suggest you get some help from some you trust. Or may be raise a icket with cPanel Support.
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Murtaza_t is right. See if you're blocking ports 2083 and/or 2082. Any folders were deleted by mistake/accident? Ask whoever worked on your server to look into this problem.
     
  6. senoj2k

    senoj2k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks for your advice guys i appreciate your help, and any one who does manage to point in the right direction to get it fixed can have free hosting for life of corse btw :) , anyway ill probally have to end up paying out more money for it to be fixed...

    but now you mention it when my server was getting spammed i try and ban the offeneders in ip address in iptables i was way out of my depth and did not know what i was doing so i hope i did know mess it up, if so any able point me in the right direction to check if these ports are banned?


    also there is one ofter thing when i was being attacked i did update to bleeding EDGE tree, i figured there old exploits would then not be able work i know probally a big mistake i since then downgraded it could this of messed things up :confused: ?
     
  7. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    if you updated to EDGE and then dropped back I would suggest going back to EDGE as there are some big differences in them.

    Also one thing I have noticed on my cpanel boxes is if the load is very high then WHM will work but cpanel will not work.

    Will give a page timeout error
     
  8. senoj2k

    senoj2k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks for the update dave, im updating back to the EDGE stuipd me, then hopefully ill find a fix, every think does seems to work perfet in WHM just page cannot be displayed for cpanels :confused:

    every think ran perfet for 6 months untill i got targeted by some hackers sucking all my cpu :eek:

    i decided to update to get rid of this things that kept running :confused:

    and now the name servers http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=customhosting.org.uk

    and cpanel it self dont work but yet all the processes are up and every think seem ok in whm :confused:
     
    #8 senoj2k, Apr 4, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2006
  9. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried logging into SSH and restarting cpanel?

    I think its /etc/rc.d/init.d/cpanel restart
     
  10. gordypordy

    gordypordy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did your server crash/was it rebooted after the hacks?

    If so, you would be able to access your WHM area but your Cpanel might not work if you have not manually restarted your services in your WHM area.

    Scroll to the bottom of your WHM area for RESTART SERVICES, restart your apache and any other service which may not be working, see if that helps. If so you might also have to restrat BIND FTP EXIM etc, manually also b4 they work properly.

    regards
     
  11. rajgautam

    rajgautam Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If none of the techniques works then try this:
    #mv /usr/local/cpanel /usr/local/cpanel.old
    #/scripts/upcp --force

    It will refresh all the cpanel binaries and it will be just like fresh cpanel install.
    good luck!!
    :)
     
  12. OCX

    OCX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    check your named.conf file and see if it looks normal

    if not..grab your backup and replace it..
    then restart named



    OCX
     
  13. xidica

    xidica Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    See if the following will give you a process ID or show that it's at least listening on the right ports :

    netstat -atnp | grep "2082\|2083\|2086\|2087"

    If not, I'm guessing cpsrvd is borked.
     
  14. senoj2k

    senoj2k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    wow thanks for the support guys :) ,

    yes i have tryed restarting cpanel via ssh everything starts up fine all services are running

    thinking back cpanel and domains did stop working when i did upgrade to the edge to try and stop my cpu being exploited i am a bit out of my depth here

    refreshing all the cpanel binaries and it will be just like fresh cpanel install does sounds like what it needs thanks rajgautam if i do run this can things get more messed up though or am i safe?

    and thanks xidica i just ran netstat -atnp | grep "2082\|2083\|2086\|2087"

    root@cpanel [~]# netstat -atnp | grep "2082\|2083\|2086\|2087"
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:2082 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN
    15766/cpsrvd - wait
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:2083 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN
    15755/stunnel-4.04l
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:2086 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN
    15766/cpsrvd - wait
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:2087 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN
    15755/stunnel-4.04l
    root@cpanel [~]#

    the results seem ok?

    does any one else have any more brain waves?
     
    #14 senoj2k, Apr 5, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page