The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel notification mail

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by khoonchee, May 21, 2003.

  1. khoonchee

    khoonchee Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    We are getting the below notification few times a day :

    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    This is cPanel cpuwatch on domain.secure-dns.net!
    While processing, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more then a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of
    this email is
    12:00pm up 15 days, 3:54, 2 users, load average: 1.16, 0.96, 1.15
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load. If you want stats to continue to run even with a high load; Edit
    /var/cpanel/cpanel.config and change extracpus to a number larger then 0 (run
    /usr/local/cpanel/startup afterwards to pickup the changes).


    We have edited the cpanel.config file as asked in the instruction but still getting the same message.How can we stop this?


    Thanks



    Andy

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    Everytime I get this its because VI has been maxing out the CPU for some hours. I guess it does not terminate fully sometimes. Try the 'top' command and check what's maxing your CPU out and then kill that process if needed. You can also use the 'ps -aux' command to get an idea of what's using the most CPU and RAM.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. horrighs

    horrighs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have been getting this too, I have increased this number beyond 0 as it instructs but then when i process logs by hand it gives me a warning about my CPU count is incorrect.

    Where is the CPU Load % at? everytime it bitches at me my load is like 1% i would be happy to let it ride up to 5% i really want my stats processed.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    I tracked this to another problem as well. Some of the sites had an extremely large log file in /usr/local/apache/domlogs. In fact all the logs combined were 1GB. I removed the all and the problem has subsided.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Hoster2k

    Hoster2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    go to tweak settings have have it delete users logs after a cycle run. You shouldn't run into as big a problem with huge logs then.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. horrighs

    horrighs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok that makes sense but then what if a user wants to download there raw log file?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Hoster2k

    Hoster2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    build 35 or later they now have the ability to archive their logs. Maybe change them to blue lagoon theme to see this option if they request it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. horrighs

    horrighs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    does this tweak do anything?

    The load average above the number of cpus at which logs file processing should be suspended (default 0):

    and is there a way to run all of the stats by hand to just get the system updated?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. Uneeeq

    Uneeeq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
Loading...

Share This Page