The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel on a different Port

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sarhosting, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. sarhosting

    sarhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hey all,

    I was just wondering, if its possible to run cPanel on another port / another way.

    I ask this for a few reasons, alot of our customers have complained that when they are at work and they want to access cPanel - of course, their firewall blocks anything :2083 any URL with a port and a /cpanel url.

    Is there anyway around this? Can anyone offer any advice / suggestions?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In the EDGE build is experimental functionality on accessing cPanel, WHM and Webmail over regular HTTP ports. Until that functionality propagates to other builds, your best bet would be to use a third party utility such as "cPanel Proxy" to be able to access those services over regular ports.
     
  3. sarhosting

    sarhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hmm thats a good idea.

    I dont fancy using edge as of yet - I might stick it on a VPS and give it a go!
     
  4. osmo

    osmo Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
Loading...

Share This Page