The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel on front and back end

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by taydu, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. taydu

    taydu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    how can i get cpanel to work with front and back-end server config?

    front-end: apache, php,
    back-end: mysql

    front and back are connect via private lan with private NIC.

    is there a tutorial for this, please help

    thanks
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you simply attempting to setup a remote MySQL server for use by the cPanel/WHM server or are you having a specific set of scripts on the cPanel/WHM server connect to a remote MySQL server?
     
  3. taydu

    taydu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    setup remote mysql server to use with cpanel/whm. on a LAMP server everything include Cpanel is install on 1 box, now i want to use a seperate server for mysql, and want to know how to set it up so cpanel will work with the external mysql server.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually, that's fairly easy as long as you follow the instructions provided in the WHM interface.

    Go to WHM -> SQL Services -> Setup Remote MySQL Server. At the bottom of that page you will see some notes:

    As long as those conditions are met, simply fill out the form, click Setup and follow any on-screen instructions to set this up.
     
  5. taydu

    taydu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    First of all both servers will reside on the same private lan communication between web and database server will only be on private lan for speed and bw. So do i need SSH ?

    form fresh the web server will have apache, php and cpanel installed (no mysql) the db server have mysql install up and running.

    Now all i do is go into WHM -> SQL Services -> Setup Remote MySQL Server follow instruction on screen and that's it ? I will have a complete LAMP setup ?
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    SSH is simply the means by which this process is done, it has nothing to do with the proximity of the servers therefore, yes, the cPanel/WHM server will need to be able to SSH to the MySQL server. How you set that up is essentially up to you.

    The Apache and PHP will be on the cPanel/WHM server and the MySQL server being on the remote server would result in a complete LAMP setup.
     
Loading...

Share This Page