The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel on port 443?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by erick_paper, Feb 1, 2006.

  1. erick_paper

    erick_paper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello

    My corporate network has paranoid security levels and does not allow ports 2083 or 2096. Would anyone know how I can access cpanel through the regular SSL ports? Is there a setting where I can change this?

    Many thanks
     
  2. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No, there's not way to change those ports

    You could setup a proxy server on the cpanel box (or another box), and set your proxy settings to use that proxy.

    You could try cpanelproxy - it allows you to install one php script and an .htaccess file, and get access to cpanel through a subdomain.

    You could look into port forwarding. I'm not sure it's possible, but i think so.
     
  3. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    http://cpanelproxy.net/

    This lets you access WHM, cPanel and webmail through port 80. It's not SSL, but it's better than nothing.
     
  4. erick_paper

    erick_paper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks. Cpanel proxy does not work with https -- their FAQ suggests it does, but only if I have my own SSL certificate. I would appreciate any other experiences.

    The proxy server sounds good. Would something like Squid do the job?

    Cannot do port forwarding as that needs SSH connectivity at least, and SSH ports are blocked in my network too :(

    Thanks for any further ideas!
     
  5. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, you would need ssl for the domain that you are using cpanelproxy on, but you don't need to buy a cert if you don't mind clicking though a warning every time.

    Squid would do it. The only problem is, it would have to be on a port that is open to your firewall. If you're using it on the same box, you can't use 443 or 80 because those are tied up by your web server.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You could use something like redir. So long as you don't allow httpd to bind to port 443 you could redirect traffic from port 443 to port 2083:

    http://sammy.net/~sammy/hacks/

    You will only be able to redirect one port to another, so for 2096 you'd have to use a different port, perhaps 8080, etc.
     
  7. Kerstin

    Kerstin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    You can routing your corporate network ip`s and ports over subnet, subdomain with
    the ATP (adress translation protocoll) ;) routing software or freeware between two points of
    your corporate network and the http socket.
     
Loading...

Share This Page