The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel on RedHat Enterprise Linux 3

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by volgafan, Dec 5, 2003.

  1. volgafan

    volgafan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did anybody use cPanel with RedHat Enterprise Linux 3?

    Is it have a lot of bugs?

    I need to make a decision in next few hours wich OS to use n our new server: RH9 or RHE....

    From one hand, RHE is more stable and this is a future. But cPanel in beta state.
    From other hand RH9 is well known product but it wil be EOL at April 30, 2004

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 31517
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    We will know in a day or two. I am awaiting the arrival of our test server with RHE and cPanel, we will also be testing Tomcat 4.0.3 and Tomcat 4.1.2 (from an install and basic functionality point)
     
  3. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Both Progeny and Fedora-Legacy will be releasing security patches for RH7 after Jan 1. In other words there is no EOL and there is no need to change OS's before you are ready.
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I won't use fedora based O/S on any client server. Also found several High-End NOC's refusing it as well.

    As for Progeny? Don't know enough about them to trust them, plus the fact they are not RH so no guarantee of continued quality or stability.

    Anyway it everyones own choices, for us it will be RHE for all client servers.
     
  5. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please read my post.

    I have said nothing about fedora. I posted about fedora-legacy releasing security updates for REDHAT 7.
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Noted, but going back to 7 is kinda working backward is it not? Like I said everyones own choice.
     
  7. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I also said nothing about going back to 7. I simply stated that there is no need to worry about EOL because security updates will be issued by 2 organisations.

    I have 7.3 currently and will update to RHEL when I'm ready, not on Jan 1. EOL does not exist.
     
  8. Myacen

    Myacen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Everything works apart from exim so far.
     
  9. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any time frame when cpanel will be out of the beta versions for RHE?

    I hear the upgrade from RH9 to RHE would require a complete o/s reinstall which means all additional information will be lost... If cpanel will be fully compatible with RHE soon i will hold off on making any more customizations to my server,
     
  10. e-creations

    e-creations Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You need to add your hostname in the localdomains file, at least that has managed to get exim working for local delivery for me so far, still can't get out anywhere else :(
     
  11. Myacen

    Myacen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We got it working with a few tweaks
     
  12. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Mind sharing what those tweaks were ;)??
     
  13. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    I have contacted a few server providers, they are recommending to get Redhat 9 today, then switching later to RHE - some will allow you to switch without paying, just ask them.

    RHE is only in beta stage for Cpanel at this point but I have hear it can be ready as early as first week of 2004.
     
  14. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If your using ur OWN files, then it will be okay to use RH9 now and upgrade to RHE later... however if you plan to be a webhost, the transition can be quit difficult for the fact that to upgrade from RH9 to RHE it will need a complete O/S reinstall which can be a burden, as u will need to find a way to properly backup ur clients files and resintall.
     
  15. gator

    gator Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I hope to use RH9 now and update to RHEL later without doing a complete reinstall. Here's how:

    I too am in position where I need to deploy another server and make a decision. Since I have the disk space and the server will be a couple thousand miles away when CPanel is stable on RHEL I am thinking a dual boot makes the most sense.

    I must maintain a stable server so I am planning on loading a small partition with RH9 and another with RHEL; each with their own CPanel installed. I will use RH9 for now and then sometime next year copy a few configuration files for CPanel and the OS from the RH9 partition to the RHEL and I'm ready to go. At least in theory ;-)

    I can always fall back to RH9 and use Fedora Legacy but think this might be the easiest way to get on RHEL at a later date. If it does work then I can switch to RHEL and apply a lot of updates all without paying the data center for what would be an ugly complete re-install.
     
  16. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What's the rush for RHE anyway?

    You can still run a webhosting company with RH6.2! :)
     
  17. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have not tried cpanel on RHES yet but the OS is rock solid.

    For once everything works like its supposed to without having to tweak anything

    Memory management is a lot better, OS is a lot faster than the RH x
     
  18. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Providing you use a DC that actually knows what they are doing unlike one of ours.
     
  19. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    we are our own datacenter so I get to manage all the servers

    which makes it nice I can adjust and tweak as needed
     
  20. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I wish we did.... This was one of the latest replies from one DC we are using (not for much longer mind you).


    This DC does advertise support and servers with RHEL.
     
Loading...

Share This Page