The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel on vmware fusion

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by clukas, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. clukas

    clukas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey everyone

    I have been having problems with installing cpanel on vmware fusion.
    I was wondering if someone could create a vmware fusion image with cpanel pre-installed (without the license code activated).
    This would really help me!

    Thanks!
     
  2. nilesh_kolte

    nilesh_kolte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pune ,India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Cpanel license is activated on IP. So if we create the vmware fusion image with cpanel this will also need license for the cpanel.
     
  3. clukas

    clukas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when i installed cpanel it never asked me for a license during the installation. Do you enter the license during the installation or when you start WHM?
     
  4. clukas

    clukas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when i installed cpanel it never asked me for a license during the installation. Do you enter the license during the installation or when you start WHM?
     
  5. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    License is checked automatically

    cPanel checks periodically with our licensing server to see if the license is valid periodically, and records the results to /usr/local/cpanel/logs/license_log. Unlike with some other control panels, there is no license "key" to enter. It is based entirely upon the IP address. Basically, our server checks with our licensing server from time to time and asks "Is my IP address licensed?"

    If you do not see a warning message about the license in the WebHost Manager, then the server is properly licensed and the verification process is working as expected.

    If you want to be completely sure, you can run cpkeyclt, which is the command that verifies the license status with our license servers. You should see something like this:

    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt 
    Updating cPanel license...Done. Update succeeded.
    Building global cache for cpanel...Done
     
Loading...

Share This Page