Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel on VPS & APF/IPTables

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by thmatt, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. thmatt

    thmatt Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello all, I am having an issue and I hope someone else may have already experienced this and can provide some suggestions on how to proceed.

    I am using cPanel on a VPS with Virtuozzo and have been trying to install APF via WHMXtra. Originally I was getting "device not found" errors for the network interface which I resolved by changing that to venet0:0.

    Now when I try to start APF via command line, I get:

    Unable to load iptables module (ip_tables), aborting

    From that I checked to see if IPTables is installed and according to the OS module list in virtuozzo, it is, iptables-1.2.8-12.3 to be exact. I am running centos3 currently.

    I also tried to install KISS instead but ran into the same IPtables issue so I hope someone may know how to track this down in a virtuozzo VPS.

    Thanks for any suggestions you can provide.
     
  2. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    If your running Virtuozzo with the control panel, then a firewall can be installed and managed with the control panel. Installing another firewall will cause more issues than it's worth, even with the Virtuozzo firewall disabled. One issue I've seen is that all users are blocked, requiring access via the control panel to disable.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    even if you set up IP tables correctly on the hardware node apf will make your vps run like a dog use a "non stateful rules" firewall it's posted on the sw-soft forums
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    It is still a problematic installation. As much as I like to use APF/BFD, I had to give it up.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    if you need help with a firewall/BFD on virtuozzo VPS please feel free to PM me :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice