The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel password and sql databases

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by cooldude7273, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    is it possible to change my cPanel password without effecting my forum and its SQL database?
     
  2. icanectc

    icanectc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yea click on change password....
     
  3. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    is it possible to change my cPanel password B]without effecting my forum and its SQL database?[/B]
     
  4. Ghij

    Ghij Registered

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Again, is it possible to change the cPanel password without it changing my MySQL password also? When I use the Change Password icon in cPanel, I get the following message:

    -- Start Message --
    Password Maintenance

    Updated postgresql password
    Updated mySQL password

    Your password has been changed!
    -- End Message --

    The database password gets changed as well as the cPanel login password!! Is there a way to change JUST the cPanel login password and NOT the database password??
     
  5. pshepperd

    pshepperd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can ssh in
    and change the password for your *nix user, this will change the cpanel pass. However I think cpanel will sync it to mysql at a later time, though i am not sure.

    Give it a try on a test account

    Code:
    ssh into your server as the user u want to change
    then 
    
    passwd
    enter pass
    enter pass again
    
     
  6. Ghij

    Ghij Registered

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Paul.

    I don't have SSH access right now. When I get it, I'll fool around with it. I'm worried about the fact that MySQL *may* sync later.

    I think I'll just change my password in cPanel, then change the password in my PHP code for the database calls and be done with it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page