Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel + Plesk + Subdomains with Subfolders

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by flotisso, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. flotisso

    flotisso Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hello community,

    first of all, sry for my bad english, i didnt study it too much in my free time :)

    I dont know what to do, to make my subdomains work.
    Ive got a cPanel without domain, cause ive bought the domain at another hoster.
    At the domain hoster i can change the dns settings what i like,... but i didnt find a way to redirect somethink like this "board.mydomain.at" to "mywebhostip/board".
    does anybody know how this redirection can work?
    is there any way that i can control my subdomains over cpanel although i dont have my domainhosting there?!?

    Yours Truly
     
    #1 flotisso, Aug 20, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    To redirect "board.mydomain.at" to "mywebhostip/board" you will need to create CNAME record of board which will point to "mywebhostip/board".
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If only the subdomain is hosted on the hoster using cPanel/WHM, you may be able to login to the cPanel interface for that account by going to sub.domain/cpanel - it depends on how that was configured. If that does not work, you can use https://IP:2083 where IP is any IP address on that server.

    As far as accessing the account by means of something like http://IP/username... that would need to be set up by your web host. Many web hosting companies allow http://IP/~username (note the ~). If your hosting company does not have this functionality enabled, you may want to discuss this with them to see what they can do for you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice