The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Plugin problem.

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by dansgalaxy, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. dansgalaxy

    dansgalaxy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey,

    I created my own cPanel plugin using the generator i set it to put the icon in the "advanced" group... registered it.. and it put the icon in a new (blank) group/box

    even worse i cant uninstall it.

    i run the unregister script and it removed the icon but left the link in the blank group :(

    Is there a way to manually install/uninstall plugins?

    Help!!
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you upload your .cpanelplugin file so I can analyze the file and try to replicate this behavior on my test server? If so, that would be greatly appreciated.

    There are currently known issues with our plugin uninstaller (Internal Case 4910). Running the following command as root via SSH should remove the icon:

    Code:
    touch /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x3/dynamicui.conf
     
  3. dansgalaxy

    dansgalaxy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, I discovered dynamicui.conf and the dynamicui dir which had the info about the plugin, and managed to get it working.

    Also came across how to add custom groups (which i think you wrote ;) so will be trying that soon too :).

    Although I am noticing something which is rather annoying.

    Have the features I have enabled in the feature list don't show in the cPanel.

    For example Virus Scanner, Agora Cart,
    random html generator, optimizer, search engine submit tool and bucket loads more dont show in the cPanel even though they are enabled.

    There are NOT disabled in the global disabled list, and i ran the touch command you mentioned above to be sure that wouldnt kick them back in :)

    Also I been going through the theme folder looking at everything (being nosy) as customising myown theme so want to see whats there and from what i can see the folders etc are all there its just the links which dont appear :S
     
  4. dansgalaxy

    dansgalaxy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Congratulations, you increased you post count by 1 and posted 2 crappy links.

    Read the posts otherwise what you put is pointless post padding. Like the quoted one above...
     
    #4 dansgalaxy, Sep 5, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 8, 2009
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The Search Engine Submission tool hasn't been in cPanel in many years now. We're working to remove that from the feature lists. Internal Case 2468.

    Some tools appear within CGI Center and Site Software rather than directly on the cPanel interface's homepage.

    Virus scanner requires that the ClamAVScanner plugin be installed. You can do this by going to WHM -> cPanel -> Manage Plugins and checking the "Install and Keep Updated" checkbox for "pro." Click "Save" at the bottom of the page and let the process complete. Then go to the Manage Plugins screen again (don't use your browser's back button, this may load an old/cached version of the page) and for clamavconnector check "Install and Keep Updated" and click "Save" at the bottom of the page. Now the virus scanner icon should appear in cPanel.
     
  6. dansgalaxy

    dansgalaxy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Right ok, what about things like the optimiser one etc

    Also PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEEEASE can something either be put in later releases or at least some kind of documentation on this on the website...

    All it really needs to be is, To activate virus scanner. Do this. to acivate the optimiser, do this etc.

    Gets rather frustrating because at the moment, for the ones which dont show because something isn't enables/installed I have to guess at what i might have to install or have a cPanel staff member figure it out and tell me, so would make sense to get something online about each and every feature included and how to use them!

    No point having features there when most people dont know how to use them :(

    Thanks,
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    cPanel User Guide may be helpful to you.
    cPanel User Guide

    cPanel also provides videos in many areas of the cPanel GUI that can be helpful to the new user.

    Along with that you might take a peek at and test out all of the other options (in WHM and cPanel) and also search these forums for tips on configuring your server properly as you see fit.

    Then of course, educate your users about the options you've provided for them to use.

    If you've got suggestions on how to make cPanel a better product, feel free to post those suggestions to bugzilla or search there for others suggestions you agree with and want to vote on to bump it up for the developers to see.

    HTH
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm working with our documentation team with regards to your concerns. Also, I have submitted a proposal to our developers for addressing your concerns. I will post any pertinent updates to this thread. Internal case 33184.
     
  9. dansgalaxy

    dansgalaxy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, hopefully will get some docs out of this.

    Seems to be the big thing cPanel as a product really lacks in some areas. :)

    Hopefully you might be able to help in short term, got ClamAV enabled after enabling pro & clamav in plugins.

    How do i enable the "Optimize Website" feature (I have deflate enabled on the server).

    Also Agora Cart doesn't show :/

    And from what you said and what i have seen the "Search Engine Submit tool" ... which is still in the feature lists ... is removed/no longer part of cpanel.

    Also I noticed in the frontend/x3/ dir that theres "security" dir which when i go to it direct in cPanel seems to have some interesting bits, which appear to be access control to the cPanel account? like IP access and also security questions? Whats this, is it still an active part of cpanel... why doesnt it have an icon or something?

    Cheers,
    Dan
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you enable mod_deflate in Apache by means of EasyApache, that will enable the "Optimize Website" feature. This functionality relies on mod_deflate, hence it is not available until mod_deflate has been enabled.

    In cPanel 11 themes like X3, it will not show on the main page of the cPanel interface. You will need to go into "Site Software" to see the option to install Agora Cart. This assumes you have installed the Agora Cart cPAddon via WHM -> cPanel -> Install cPAddons.

    To toggle Agora Cart for X3, click on the "Edit cPAddons Feature list" link. Using the Agora Cart setting on the main feature list page will only work for cPanel 10 themes such as X and X2, where Agora Cart was displayed on the homepage of the cPanel interface.

    This is a known issue. We intend to remove this listing.

    This is part of new functionality we're introducing in version 11.25. This is not supported in 11.24, hence we did not add any UI elements to reference this future functionality in 11.24.
     
  11. dansgalaxy

    dansgalaxy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    mod_deflate appears to be enabled... can PM a link to a PHPinfo() page to show if you like, but it appears to be enabled from what i can tell yet optimzier not showing :/

    Ok I see. :)

    Why add it into the main release before its done? ... seems a bit messy to do it like that :s

    Cheers,
    Dan
     
  12. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Let us take a look at that for you: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
  13. dansgalaxy

    dansgalaxy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page