The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPanel Problems?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by clperkins, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. clperkins

    clperkins Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a hosting account where I cannot access any of my cpanel stuff. The host (I won't name the company for now) says it is a cpanel problem and that the cpanel folks are working on it. Funny that I haven't read anything about it here. Does anyone know if this is a true statement by this hosting company. I have my suspicions.

    Thanks...Cathy
     
  2. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Can you explain a little more about the stuff you can't access?

    Any errors?
     
  3. clperkins

    clperkins Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok - I have to mention the hosting company - ThirdSphere. It's their automation station and here is the error -
    Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_VARIABLE in /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/ts2/amstation/automationstation.php on line 3

    They are claiming that this is affecting MANY Cpanel hosts but I have been unable to find it on any of my other CPanel hosts. Here is there rambling message:

    The web server that you are currently hosted on runs a different version of the back end of the control panel than the rest of the servers (a more updated version).

    We run this on only one server so that if anything appears not to work, then we can delay updating the other servers. Today Cpanel (the company that makes the back end of the control panel ThirdSphere uses) pushed an update and it did break something (which it does happen but only rarely). The most obvious evidence of this is that some Web20 users cannot log into their control panel and receive the following error message (text in red):

    "Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_VARIABLE in /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/ts/index.php on line 3"

    After investigating the issue thoroughly, we have determined that Cpanel has broken the custom Cpanel tags that we use. While we believe this is affecting other hosting companies and Cpanel will fix it quickly, we have also paid for escalated customer support and are waiting for a call back at this time.

    In the meantime, we have turned off some functions that rely on these tags, so that we can restore controlpanel access for web20 customers. It is possible that some things will not work, but just let us know as you find them and we will see if we can provide a work around. You will not be able to log into: AutomationStation or any of your web editors: bleepsoft, Site Studio or Website Workshop.

    Thank you.
    The ThirdSphere Team.

    Thanks for reading this whole thing...Cathy
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you get the ticket # they opened with us, we would be happy to look into it. Also there are currently 0 direct and 0 partner tickets waiting responses.
     
  5. clperkins

    clperkins Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Their reply

    Here is their reply to a request for a ticket number -


    From ThirdSphere Support -


    Here is one of the email communications we received:
    [Bug 5826] cpanel tags no longer work in cpanel.
    ------- Comment #1 from todd cpanel.net 2007-09-04 09:16 -------
    Tickets #209793 & 209962
    If I understand these tickets properly, they are experiencing this same
    issue.

    And, I have talked to 10 other hosting companies owners this morning as
    part of a conference IM that I do, and they are all experiencing the
    issue on servers that have the latest cpanel update. Specifically we
    are only having this issue on one server, because it is the server we
    updated. The other servers on the network don't have the issue because we
    have not updated them. So any company that runs Cpanel that has not
    updated or does not run Fantastico or any other use of custom Cpanel
    tags is fine.

    End - ThirdSphere Support

    Thanks for looking into this...Cathy
     
  6. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    We are currently working with the host on this issue.
     
  7. clperkins

    clperkins Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks - I wasn't sure if I believed them or not.
     
  8. intel352

    intel352 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC, USA
    hey Todd, our server is running EDGE, we're experiencing the same issue as well. It's been about a week since we've updated, has this been fixed yet?
     
  9. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  10. intel352

    intel352 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC, USA
    hmm, that didn't fix it for me. there's no longer a parse error, but now it's just a blank page.
     
  11. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  12. intel352

    intel352 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC, USA
    ah, my issue is going down to a deeper problem

    I had this issue with the system version of PHP, so I changed the configure line to point at the proper sql location, symlinked all of the old sql libraries to the current sql library (.15), recompiled php, that worked

    but apparently the cpanel php needs some help :-\

    if you have suggestions, that would be great. in the meantime, I'll see if I can figure out a fix.

    thanks...
     
  13. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    You can rebuild cpanel's php interpreter using /scripts/makcpphp. I recommend running this as it should rebuild and relink the libraries as needed.
     
  14. intel352

    intel352 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC, USA
    I've actually done that already :(
     
  15. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Unfortunately the issue your experiencing isn't part of the issue previously discussed in this thread. I recommend submitting a support ticket so we can look further into this for you.
     
  16. intel352

    intel352 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC, USA
    i got it figured out. from where i'd had problems with MySQL recently, I had created symlinks from old (.14, .6, etc) versions to the current (.15). apparently the php build was picking this up, so by removing the symlinks, it started working properly

    i doubt this specific situation would happen to others tho, as it originated out of mysql 3 libraries still being on the server for some reason, which caused more problems than it helped
     
Loading...

Share This Page