The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Proxy Issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by VeZoZ, Oct 11, 2008.

  1. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The proxy system is a great idea and all but I noticed it just takes on whatever settings Apache has. cPanel offers mod_security which I assume a lot of people are using and the proxy will take on the rules. This will break almost all the pages of cpanel with even modest rulesets.

    I see no reason to not turn mod_security off for the proxy vhost considering mod_security does not run against the real cpanel. So how about adding this to the vhost:

    <IfModule mod_security2.c>
    SecRuleEngine Off
    </IfModule>


    I believe that'll solve any issues with mod_security messing up the proxy. I could put this in the bugzilla, but not many people read it. At least on the forums other people might notice it and ask for this to be fixed. Or at least others with issues with errors when users use the proxy cpanel will know how to resolve the issue.
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
     
  3. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  4. whplus

    whplus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Behind your business
    Any update for this issue?
    And also is it possible to force connecting through SSL (to redirect the proxy domains to a secure connection) ?


    Susan,
     
    #4 whplus, Dec 14, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2008
  5. Voltar

    Voltar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bakersfield, California
    You can set cPanel/WHM SSL connections to be SSL only in Tweak Settings in WHM. For the proxy subdomains, I presume with a shared SSL certificate with Apache and a few mod_rewrite rules you could easily redirect http traffic to https, although you probably would get a certificate error in your browser.
     
Loading...

Share This Page