The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Proxy Sub-domains stop Working Without error or specific causes [case 73365]

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rayven, Jun 29, 2013.

  1. rayven

    rayven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    I'm running the latest WHM and cPanel version 11.38 build on CentOS 6.4 32 bit Linux.
    Every since an upgrade to the latest cPanel 11.38 builds, my proxy sub-domains, such as cpanel.domain.com, webmail.domain.com, all stopped working.
    cPanel support and I were able to fix this problem temporarily, but it is a repeated ongoing issue as of late.
    I was told to run /scripts/ rebuildhttpdconf and restart Apache, and while this works temporarily, the problem crops up again and again.
    I have 1 reseller, whose ownership is set to themselves and is not under root ownership. I saw somewhere, where it said to reset account ownerships but this didn't help any.
    When I rebuild the config file using the rebuildhttpdconf command an error like
    Missing owner for domain mango.firestar-hosting.com force lookup to root
    Built /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf ok
    Is displayed at the end. When I reboot apache, the domains like cpanel.firestar-hosting.com, webmail.firestar-hosting.com, etc, all work for a while. Eventually though, they stopped working without warning and I have to rebuild the configuration file again, and reboot Apache.
    Has anyone else experienced this specific problem, and could you provide a fix if at all possible?
    Thanks.
     
  2. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I saw this exact same problem about 2 weeks ago. Go into WHM, change hostname. You don't need to necessarily change the hostname, just re-save the one you've already got set up. When it prompts you to set an A record for that hostname, do so. That should fix you. At least, it fixed that problem on this end.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please reply to your existing ticket noting that the issue continues to reoccur if you continue to experience this problem. Also, please post the ticket number here so we can track the issue and update this thread.

    Thank you.
     
  4. rayven

    rayven Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    Ticket number 4275127
    The domains seem to work, but now. The server is complaining about a missing server name, missing IP address, missing port, and missing group, for domain mango.firestar-hosting.com.
    I went into WHM, set host name, and resaved the current HOstName. Also, added an A entry, and the issue with missing group, missing server name, missing IP address, and missing port, all now occur for the domain above.
     
    #4 rayven, Jul 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'd be interested in knowing what causes that issue in the first place. Like I said, updating the hostname seems to have fixed it on this end as well, but the fact that it started happening completely out of the blue is somewhat concerning. I want to say since somewhere in 11.36.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have not been able to reproduce this issue. If you do experience this problem again, please open a support ticket so we can take a closer look.

    Thank you.
     
  8. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It would appear I spoke too soon, as the problem resurfaced tonight for no apparent reason.

    Ticket #4295833
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This was the result of a flaw with "/scripts/ensure_includes" where it was incorrectly modifying proxy sub-domain IP addresses. An internal case was opened to address this issue. For reference, the case number is 73365. A resolution is scheduled for inclusion in a future build of cPanel, but there is currently no specific time frame available for it's release.

    Thank you.
     
  10. theboomshadow

    theboomshadow Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I wanted post a quick reply in here as this thread still comes up first in search results for "Missing owner for domain" errors. I had this same exact problem and the issue was a custom Apache virtual host inside an include file located here:

    /usr/local/apache/conf/includes/pre_virtualhost_global.conf

    So, you may want to look in that 'includes' folder and see if any of those files have custom mods. In my case, our customer had a whole virtual host entry for their hostname but the document root pointed to a non-existent user.
     
  11. quanin

    quanin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have no custom mods in place, but I still get that error. Fortunately the workaround postupcp script seems to make it a non-issue. Still, I'd love it if this could actually be fixed.
     
  12. grvulture

    grvulture Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having this issue also. Which workaround???
    @theboomshadow No hostname entries in any of the include files here either.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Case 73365 resolved an issue where ensure_includes was incorrectly modifying proxy sub domain IP addresses. This case has been resolved and the resolution has been pushed out per the change log. Please open a support ticket if you continue to experience this problem, or are experiencing a different problem with proxy subdomains.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page