The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel proxy

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by BraveX, May 22, 2009.

  1. BraveX

    BraveX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a customer having trouble accessing cpanel. It think it's firewall related.

    I'm wondering if cPanel Proxy (cPanel Proxy) is secure and what your experience has been with it. Is it worth installing?

    Thanks.
     
  2. chinmay

    chinmay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi there,

    cPanel Proxy is inbuilt with the latest cPanel versions...
    Yes, it is worth installing cPanel proxy but one thing concerns me about is that it doesn't works with https. Using cPanel proxy, your local machine does not connects to the port 2082 directly... It gets connected to the server with port 80 and then establishes connection with the server on port 2082...

    Hope this helps ;)

    Note :: make sure you have the DNS entry for the subdomain cpanel.domain.com, whm.domain.com and webmail.domain.com is added on the server
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The third party cPanel Proxy script is no longer needed as that functionality is now native to cPanel/WHM as of version 11.23.
     
  4. acidstudioz

    acidstudioz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey david is there somewhere in whm where you have to turn this setting on ?
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First, you will need to have mod_proxy enabled in Apache for this to work.

    Second, you can enable/disable this functionality in Tweak Settings. Here are relevant settings:

    If you want users to be able to create their own cpanel/webmail/whm subdomains, you can enable this setting to let them override our reverse-proxy feature:

     
  6. acidstudioz

    acidstudioz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for that david you the man
     
  7. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I already enabled these and created a new account but the new account does not have the proxies enabled:

    Add proxy VirtualHost to httpd.conf to automatically redirect unconfigured cpanel, webmail, webdisk and whm subdomains to the correct port (requires mod_rewrite and mod_proxy)

    Automatically create cpanel, webmail, webdisk and whm proxy subdomain DNS entries for new accounts. When this is initially enabled it will add appropriate proxy subdomain DNS entries to all existing accounts. (Use /scripts/proxydomains to reconfigure the DNS entries manually)

    Allow users to create cpanel, webmail, webdisk and whm subdomains that override automatically generated proxy subdomains

    I also run /scripts/proxydomains add --domain=domainhere.com

    But it still wont enable the cpanel access using port 80

    Please help!
     
  8. Rasta Tee

    Rasta Tee Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you are using squid go to /etc/squid/squid.conf then add port 2082 to safe ports. service squid reload
    Now to access the cpanel you have to specify the port instead of /cpanel eg
    instead of /http://www.jcit.co.za/cpanel use /http://www.jcit.co.za:2082
     
  9. Rasta Tee

    Rasta Tee Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cpanel uses https so add 2082 to SSL_ports then you are good to go
     
Loading...

Share This Page