Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel redirect still redirecting on new server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ishware, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. Ishware

    Ishware Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Panama City, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [SOLVED] cPanel redirect still redirecting on new server

    EDIT: SOLVED

    Copied a bunch of sites from old server to new server a couple of weeks ago. Old server is shut down.

    Files for this site appear to correctly be loaded on new server - but browsing to domain name causes the cPanel redirect page to appear.

    Pinging the domain returns the proper new server ip.

    Where is this feature controlled? I undersatnd .htaccess, but I don't see one there; I looked in DNS zone, and I don't see anything... But I'm not a hosting guru....
     
    #1 Ishware, Sep 29, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2010
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The .htaccess file is hidden by default. In cPanel File Manager when you first open it you're asked about Directory Selection and if you'd like to:

    Show Hidden Files (dotfiles)
    Skip this question, and always open this directory in the future when opening File Manager.


    If you don't see that popup on entering File Manager, close FM and at bottom of cPanel main page, find a link to reset all interface settings and click it. Now try FM again and you'll get the popup and can select to show dot files.

    You can also set this option in your FTP client if needed. (show hidden files)

    Assuming there is one there and this is your problem of course.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Ishware

    Ishware Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Panama City, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Aha!

    I actually use SSH - but I recently updated the kernel (64-bit vulns) and... it's a bit different. Hadn't realized that dot files were hidden.

    So that was *exactly* the problem - just I hadn't seen it.

    Perfect! Thank you so much! :)
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You're certainly welcome, happy to assist.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice