The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel resets hostname

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by benwal91, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. benwal91

    benwal91 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After I had installed an Apache module for ASP.NET and Zend Optimizer last night, all of a sudden the system restarted itself, and now when I try to go to the cpanel WHM it takes me to a hostname that doesn't exist.

    I've done changes in the hosts file, and network file, then ran /usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt

    nothing happened. I restarted. Still the same problem happens.

    I'm running a VPS server with Cpanel, and OS is a CentOS 5 x64
     
  2. benwal91

    benwal91 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Never mind, got it working now. I used the port number with the other hostname it was to use, so now its working.
     
  3. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can edit redirect options

    You can change whether /cpanel, /whm and /webmail redirect to the hostname, the origin domain name, or the SSL certificate name (if you are using https on port 2083, 2087 or 2096) by changing the following settings in the WebHost Manager, in Main >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings:

    "When visiting /cpanel or /whm or /webmail WITHOUT SSL, you can choose to redirect to:"

    "When visiting /cpanel or /whm or /webmail with SSL, you can choose to redirect to:"

    This is explained in the "Redirection" section of our documentation here:

    Tweak Settings

    Also, normally if you change the hostname in the WebHost Manager, or even from the shell, in a VPS, the change will not take effect on reboot. To permanently change the hostname on a VPS, it must be done in the configuration on the hardware node. It sounds like you only made the change in the /etc/hosts file and network configuration in the VPS itself, and this would be why it reverted to the old value when the VPS was restarted.
     
Loading...

Share This Page