The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel Restore - Important!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HostMaster, Jul 16, 2003.

?

Do you think cpanel needs to work on the backup/restore scripts more?

  1. Yes

    66 vote(s)
    89.2%
  2. No

    8 vote(s)
    10.8%
  1. HostMaster

    HostMaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is it just me or is the cpanel restore feature useless?

    I have needed to use it 2 times now and both times it failed I had to restore 1 account at a time because the multiple restore feature does not work.

    Also the remote ftp backup is a great idea but none of the files cpanel puts on the remote ftp server are any good if you need to do a system restore :confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. HostMaster

    HostMaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Also I noticed there is no way to backup the resellers data, when you do a restore you need to manually re-create every reseller account :confused:

    Also none of the packages seem to get backed up they need to be manually re-created when you do a restore.

    I cant beleive I am saying this but I wish cpanel did the backup feature more like plesk, plesk's backup script does a full backup of EVERYTHING! and when your server fails there restore script works so well most of the time nobody even knows the server went down.
     
    #2 HostMaster, Jul 16, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2003
  3. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The reseller data is a headache, so is the dns(dns doesn't always get restored). But then I've always perceived cpanel's backup was always more about "you have a recovery cd, we just copy the most recent data from the clients for you". But they definitely need to fix that reseller data issue

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Angel78

    Angel78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    who voted no? some cpanel programmer? :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. HostMaster

    HostMaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    lol probably :D

    I have emailed cpanel about these issues several times but never receive a response

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: :mad:
     
  6. NiteStalker22

    NiteStalker22 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Eh, I wrote my own backup system.. :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. JeremyV

    JeremyV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have found any site over about 200 MB in size is useless when trying to restore. I simply have clients I need to move from server A to server B, but the transfer function will almost always give some sort of error.

    I have resorted to setting my alarm clock to 5 minutes after the cpanel backup con is run.. then dragging my ass to the computer and using WGET to pull the newest backup from the older server to the new server, then simply restoring the backup.

    Is it a pain in the ass? yes. Does it do the job? Yep. I can transfer smaller sites all day long with this feature... but any "real" site that is more than a few MB, I get various different errors, and it will almost never work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. HostMaster

    HostMaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone from cpanel would like to comment on this forum?

    Any idea when more testing & bugs for the backup/restore feature will be fixed?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. imagic

    imagic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    After we had a complete meltdown on one of our servers and we used the multiple restore in the whm, it completely messed up dns.

    It assigned unique IP's to accounts that shouldn't have them and the shared IP to accounts that were supposed to have unique IP's.

    It was a major project. It took 3 of us several hours to get it all straightened out.

    We also had a client accidently delete his db and when we restored it from the daily backup file, it only had one-third of the entries it should've had. Where did the other data go?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I use my own backup system.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. MattDr2

    MattDr2 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    I haven't had any issues with the backup/restore system aside from the reseller recreation... which can be easily done by restoring the information that is backed up from /var/cpanel

    (/backup/cpbackup/daily/dirs/_var_cpanel)

    Although, I would _really_ like to see addon domain recreation...

    Regards,
    Matt
     
  12. mattschinkel

    mattschinkel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just did a "restore", each domain separately.
    I lost my reseller data.

    When I did a backup, did it save the reseller data somewhere? like, how much disk space & bandwidth they had... and what accounts where in each reseller?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. Pda0

    Pda0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Please share =)

    .pd

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Mine's not much different than the cpanel backup script. Mostly just customized and with it's own cron job setting. My main backup script is set to backup all the important files and directories to zipped files every 24 hours. I also changed my script so instead of doing daily, weekly and monthly, mine does the last 2 days and saves them in directories called today and yesterday. That means I have 48 hours to find out I need a backup. I also have a second backup script that does the same thing, but backs up critical data weekly, including customer websites, but without jpg's, mpg's, and so on. Just in case a customer ever needs to go back a few days. ;)

    I also have a copy of most of my server on my home computer, and I download changed files every few days. That came in handy when my hard drive crashed a while back. I didn't have a backup drive then. Made restoring the sites much easier. :)
     
  15. Mivo

    Mivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay. If we're doing our own backup, what files and directories to backup aside from /home?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. Pda0

    Pda0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    mysql for one

    .pd

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. mattschinkel

    mattschinkel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    well, after I added the reseller privleges...
    all the reseller's accounts automatically went into the proper reseller accounts.

    the only problems I had other then that are:
    1. Could not use the "multiple restore"
    2. Lost all packages
     
    #17 mattschinkel, Jul 21, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2003
Loading...

Share This Page