The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel / RH ent. 3.0

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Valuehosted, Jan 14, 2004.

  1. Valuehosted

    Valuehosted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hi there,

    I am planning to move from an old box at ev1 running RH 7,2 and cpanel to a new box at Server Matrix running RH ent 3.0 and cpanel.

    My question is two fold.

    1. Is cpanel running stable on RH ent. 3.0 or when is this planned to be comfirmed?

    2. How much issue is there to transfer xpanel from one box to another (root to root), site info, mysqls's emails, email account/pws. etc? and is it likely to work or mess up?

    Thanks,

    --Tone
     
  2. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is a whole big speil on the copy script. Bout four or five pages of post. Dont have the url infront of me, but basically it works great for small accounts, and works like crap for large ones. Dont know much about rhl ent 3.0 so I cant answer that one.
     
  3. Valuehosted

    Valuehosted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    I appreciate the answer... when you say big accounts - what would that actually constitute?

    --Tone
     
  4. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, anything over a hundred megs is real slow. Anything over, say, 350 megs isnt gunna work too well unless you got lots of time. Over 500 megs, forget it. Faster to generate a backup and reupload.
     
  5. Valuehosted

    Valuehosted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    350 mb per sites or 350 mbs all in all in transfer?

    --Tone
     
  6. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    per site - it does each user individually.
     
  7. Valuehosted

    Valuehosted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    I should be fairly safe then... and it does the email accounts and passwords and stuff automatically as well?

    --Tone
     
  8. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    for the most part. It does like to mess up a lot, and not transfer everything, and when it transfers, some times it doesnt create the user account, some times it sets the wrong permissions on things, use it at your own risk. Good luck.
     
  9. Valuehosted

    Valuehosted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    yikes..

    thanks a lot for your answers...

    Wish somsone would pipe in re: ent 3.0!

    --Tone
     
  10. Valuehosted

    Valuehosted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    bump...

    finally got RHEL running stable with cpanel edge - is it safe to move to cpanel stable yet?

    Thanks,

    --Tone
     
  11. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    We did several servers with the copy and it went ok. Add-on domains still get lost even in the latest Edge builds, but it is more reliable. Easyapache still won't build with curl, curl+ssl and gettext for us, but others say they tweaked enough to get this done.
     
  12. MrHits

    MrHits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had no problems with RHE 3.0 ES and cpanel stable version.

    Though, before I installed layer1 I set

    export LANG=

    and I linked the kerbos libs directory to the proper (redhat 9) location.
     
  13. Valuehosted

    Valuehosted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    this is what I got back from support...

    hello,

    i just recieved word back fromt eh Developers and RHEL is NOT supported by stable. As for Urchin we are currently working on it and dont have an official answer as of yet.
    --
    Mike Storch
    Customer Service Rep
    mikes@cpanel.net
    cPanelMikey (AIM)
     
  14. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Release 26 is working fine here.


    #kris1351 :

    I run easyapache with with curl, curl+ssl and gettext.
    It worked fine here.
    open_basedir looks to working fine also.
    Did you start with a fresh box or did you did a upgrade?


    note: i am just starting to transfer accounts to the server so it is still verry light used.
    We will see where it will go.
     
  15. Valuehosted

    Valuehosted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    let us know will you? I am right where you are, starting to move cites over from old box. Server Matrix truly trashed this box before they gave it to me, not to mention that they gave me a celeron 2.4 first instead of the 2.8 p4 I was supposed to have.

    I love my server but SM have been flakey at best,

    --Tone
     
  16. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the box with ev1servers i must say nothing wrong with it.
    Even got a bonus i orderd 1 GB ram got 1.5 GB :D

    I did 5 transfers today and they did well no problems.

    How ever i had to do the transfers the FTP way(account password)

    Transfer with ssh doesn't work.

    Lucky the boxes are all in the ev1 network it goes quick.

    I will keep posting here.
     
  17. Valuehosted

    Valuehosted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    actually IM moving away from ev1 - Im happy with my box at SM but very unhappy with the unprofessional behavior of their sales team and their support (they put in the wrong processor for crying out loud) is not the greatest either. The sales people are real nice, but they don't seem to be backed up by management.

    24 hours to receieve a reply on a tech related question because they did a crappy job putting the box together is hardly acceptable. Did a reboot in 10 min though, that was not bad.

    I even went so far as to send a letter to their senior management at the planet, didn't get a response or anything. SO I have tremendous mixed feelings re: SM.

    --Tone
     
    #17 Valuehosted, Jan 26, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2004
  18. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have no experience with SM.
    I have no complains about ev1 but i do not use their support much and if i do i always use the live chat.
    I never use the trouble ticket system a bunch of nono's there.
    I also never give them access to the box. Hell not they break more then they fix lol.
    I guess when you are with ev1/SM you got to do it yourself.


    :D
     
  19. Valuehosted

    Valuehosted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    I had no problems AT ALL at ev1 - great prices, friendly staff etc. but it would have cost me a great deal of money to get the box up and running RHEL 3.0 and by moving I got a faster processor 2.8 p4HT vs my old 1.7 p4 - for basically the same price. (well - that was after they re-installed my whole hardware coz they messed up with the initial install)

    if anyone decides to go with SM - don't be too shocked if the prices you are quoted in email by a sales person does not match up AT ALL what you end up paying. Don't be too surprised if you you are given specs at a certain price and that is not at all what you end up getting, it seems to be the norm there that their sales people don't know when a promotion starts/ends or what your actual pricing will be.

    During the order process I was told my initial charge would be one thing but it ended up being almost $6 - not a huge deal but whats the point of telling me what the price will be if that is not what you will be charged?

    So although I am very happy with my server, stay with EV1 - they don't play games and they take care of their clients and if they mess up they fess up and try to make you happy, not so with SM.

    --Tone
     
    #19 Valuehosted, Jan 26, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2004
  20. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    They cannot pull me away with ten horses at ev1.
    I am a verry happy customer.
    I didin't do the upgrade with the image duh.

    I had a test server with managed.com :confused:

    Please no more.
    They gave me a f**ed up box.
    I needed 3 days to got it running. Support (when they even answer) is having no clue where they are talking about.
    Bad Bad network.
    Even for testing it is not worth the money.
     
Loading...

Share This Page