The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"cpanel safe" custom apache

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by dmuey, Dec 29, 2003.

  1. dmuey

    dmuey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Howdy!

    I was curious to hear from the experts the best way to add things to apache that will not break cpanel and will be either kept or easily added back after we update apache via WHM.

    By "add things to apache" I mean:
    (Assuming anythgin you do wouldn't break apache, of course IE it will work for a plain jane *nix/apache server)
    1) Add things to httpd.conf
    like SetEnv directives perhaps or an AddType directive

    2) install a mod_*** and add it to httpd.conf (LoadModule,AddHandle, AddModule)

    I'm sure I can do 1 and 2 to make them work and no tbreak cPanel.

    What I'm wondering is once I redo apache via WHM will I need to go and redo #1 ans #2 above by hand or ???

    TIA

    Dan
     
  2. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep, any custom mods will need to be commented out before using eayapache/ then re-installed afterwords and uncommented out then restart apache again.
     
  3. drmueyx

    drmueyx Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What would happen if I left them in there, did easy apache, and then added them back by hand?

    IE, let easyapache wipe out my added stuff, then simply redo it, at firts by hand but eventually via a script.

    Or would easyapache just hang with the unknown stuff?
     
  4. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That should be fine as long as you comment out the mod code in the apache config file.

    That's how we do it.
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Never had to do that. Easyapache has never caused us an issue with custom mods in place.
     
  6. dmuey

    dmuey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What i'll probably do is simply run a script afetr I do easyapache that does a cat and grep on the httpd conf so I can see if everything is still there. (Like custom AddType,SetEnv, AddHandlers, etc)
    If cutomer modules are not kept I can simply put the install commands in the same shell script.

    With those things I would simply run that shell script everytime I run easyapche and I should knwo if al is well or not then.
     
Loading...

Share This Page