The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel securetmp script

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by seahorse, May 23, 2007.

  1. seahorse

    seahorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /scripts/securetmp is it of any use?

    On my server,
    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R10737
    Fedora i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    i ssh
    --> run /scripts/securetmp
    --> cat /etc/fstab | grep tmp

    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/tmp /tmp ext3 defaults 1 2

    --> reboot server
    --> cat /etc/fstab | grep tmp

    still the same.

    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/tmp /tmp ext3 defaults 1 2


    seems nothing happen.
    cpanel securetmp script seems does nothing at all.
     
  2. visiox

    visiox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    try "mount" instead of "cat /etc/fstab"

    if you see "noexec,nosuid" you know the script did something ;)
     
  3. seahorse

    seahorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    but isnt the cpanel securetmp script suppose to do the mounting also?
    the srcipt did ask if i want to secure tmp during reboot, i type yes.
    then after i reboot, it is still not "noexec,nosuid"

    thats why i am trying to ask if the cpanel securetmp script is working?
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please open a support ticket.
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As mentioned, first check what `mount` reports. Next, which version of Fedora are you using?
     
Loading...

Share This Page