The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel security risk?

Discussion in 'Security' started by mross, Feb 2, 2012.

  1. mross

    mross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hope someone can help me out.

    I'm getting this warning on fantastico.
    Warning: shell_exec() has been disabled for security reasons in /tmp/cpanel_phpengine.1328247003.24890vrrXtWbg5K on line 95
    Screenshot by Lightshot

    And when log out I get this one Screenshot by Lightshot - security token missing.

    Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Only your webhost can investigate these issues. They are the ones who handle the server and would need to determine why their installation of Fantastico is outputting errors.
     
  3. mross

    mross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    thanks for the response; not getting much joy from the host.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's unfortunate. When an issue is one requiring root access to the machine, then the only option is to contact your hosting provider if you don't have that access level. You may need to find a host who does respond and correct issues if your existing host is unable to do so. We have a list of providers here:

    cPanel Partner Search - cPanel Inc.
     
  5. mross

    mross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    thanks Tristan
     
  6. hoststop

    hoststop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bolton, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As a root user, there is a need to perform /scripts/makecpphp so that apache and cPanel do not use the same php.ini on the server. But, if you are on a shared server, your web host will be the only one who can help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page