The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel servers dont update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nibb, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. nibb

    nibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Im wondering why from time to time I have the same issue on several servers. The updater just doesnt update to new builds anymore. You can run it from WHM or command line and nothing. It stayts normally on "updated mysql" or "updating FTP" or something similar but doesnt move beyond that point. You can wait an hour and nothing. I tried to force updates and same thing.

    This only happens from certain builds. I open a cPanel Ticket, and they updated it. Then it works fine again and I can update as normally until then it happens again. It same its only happens with certain builds.

    There is no log, no debug. I would appreciate if someone gives a clue about what this is, as its not funny to open tickets to cPanel each time im on a build where cPanel refuses to update.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Did support offer you any idea as to what was stopping it previously? Might your firewall be blocking the required IPs for updates?
     
  3. nibb

    nibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No, I dont remember their ticket, it was months before and they jus updated the servers.

    But same problem appears now.

    Firewall? I dont think so, since it does update something and just decides to stop somewhere. Also, im not sure, but I would assume cpanel update servers run via a normal apache 80 port. If that was the case it would not even connected to their layer update.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Some of our update mirrors have ( or had ) hardware problems and are in the process of being replaced. It's possible your server(s) is having issues stemming from that.
     
  5. nibb

    nibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well, that could explain it. I will try again to update in this days and see if its works. It usually stays on a specific part of the update and just stays there without advancing.
     
  6. nibb

    nibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Sadly this is still not working and cPanel just send a security alert about 11.25 and I CANT update. It stays in "Updating FTP Software"

    Another server stays in "Running installer"


    Neither move from that point.
     
  7. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I would check the output from "ps" via root SSH access to see what processes running on the two servers; the following command can be used for this:
    Code:
    # ps afuxww
    I would check the output, wait a few minutes, and then check again, and if the running processes look the exact same as the first time it may be that either it's just requiring more time, or there could be a different problem interfering with the normal update process (e.g., a corrupt RPM database could stall certain update processes). We are here 24/7 in case you'd like more in-depth assistance; if you submit a ticket we could then login directly to check the status and confirm if there is any actual problem or if it is just requiring more time.
     
  8. nibb

    nibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok so I did know. I think it has something to do with yum update but im not sure. I never change anything that can affect cPanels updates. That means rpm or yum lists, or dependencies, only cPanel updater installs or uninstalls things. I use other tests for servers and prefer not to touch anything that can affect cPanel but then it just happens without reason after some update, the next build will not roll out.
     
  9. Datcrack

    Datcrack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Istanbul / TURKEY
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Update hangs with:

    Running Named Checks......Done
    Updating FTP Server...Ftp Setup Script Version 6.1


    Could not even update with --force.

    Heellpppp...
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please let our technical analysts login to your server. They can determine what is causing this issue and take corrective action.

    These issues are often difficult to diagnose via the forums, hence my recommendation to have our technical analysts login to your server.
     
Loading...

Share This Page