The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel show wrong MySQL version

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shopcentar, Sep 29, 2006.

  1. shopcentar

    shopcentar Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hello,

    please can somebody have fix for "cpanel show wrong MySQL version".

    We have 4.1.21 and that can I check via SSH or WHM but cpanel say:

    MySQL version 4.0.27-standard-log

    How to fix that?

    And here is more details:
    account is trasfered from older version MySQL, I wont to say others account via cpanel shown correct MySQL version so only one account that we restored from older server shown 4.0.27 standard.

    So, please cpanel stuff, can you make some tests and check that, please.

    And second the same problem are with PHP, we found fix for that:
    #fix php version
    pico /usr/local/apache/conf/php.version

    BUT question is for cpanel stuff, whay you dont fix that???
    This error is to old.

    bye, SC
     
    #1 shopcentar, Sep 29, 2006
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2006
  2. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I agree this is an error which has been around for a long time. I have noticed this affects both PHP Version and MySQL version. On a few of my accounts I have MySQl 4.1.19 displayed in cPanel when 4.1.21 is actually installed on the server.
     
  3. gal3ler

    gal3ler Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /home/username/.cpanel-datastore/_usr_sbin_mysqld_--version


    That is the file you will want to change

    You can use:

    replace "/usr/sbin/mysqld Ver 4.0.27-standard for pc-linux-gnu on i686 (Official MySQL RPM)" "/usr/sbin/mysqld Ver 4.1.21-standard for pc-linux-gnu on i686 (MySQL Community Edition - Standard (GPL))" -- /home/*/.cpanel-datastore/_usr_sbin_mysqld_--version

    to fix
     
  4. shopcentar

    shopcentar Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    great.

    many thanks!

    regards, SC
     
  5. rhohan

    rhohan Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you have multiple users, you could use :

    Code:
    find ./*/.cpanel-datastore/ | grep _usr_sbin_mysqld_--version | awk '{system ("rm " $1)}'
     
  6. maysoft

    maysoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    There's even easier way to fix wrong mysql version in cpanel:

    rm -f /home/*/.cpanel-datastore/_usr_sbin_mysqld_--version

    File will be recreated with actual data when user logs into cpanel.

    Enjoy! :D
     
  7. rogcan

    rogcan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ive tried all of the above and it still shows the wrong version in phpmyadmin

    phpMyAdmin shows this >>> Server version: 5.0.27-standard MySQL client version: 4.1.10
    Cpanel shows this >>> MySQL version 5.0.27-standard
    SSH shows this >>> MySQL version 5.0.27-standard

    Anyone else have any ideas to fix what it should say for client version ??
     
  8. cPanelBrandonM

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you completely remove the datastore directory it will be recreated upon next login. This is a real quick fix for this problem:

    rm -rf /home/*/.cpanel/

    refresh your cpanel.
     
  9. rogcan

    rogcan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That doesnt work either :(

    I even had cPanel look at this problem and they couldnt resolve it.
    When they did fix it it came right back as soon as the next cpanel update was auto installed.
     
  10. rachweb

    rachweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    amsterdam
    do /scripts/makecpphp. Phpmyadmin use the internal php version of cpanel
     
  11. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Client version shown in phpMyAdmin is something totally different and has to
    do with your MySQL linking library version and not your MySQL version.

    You can just symlink to the newer library in /usr/lib to display the newer version
     
  12. Interdit

    Interdit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    What would be the exact command ? what's the name of the library to link ?

    ln -s ...

    I have the same problem after installing Mysql 5.0.45 but phpinfo and phpmyadmin are still showing the old version.
    The version 5.0.45 is correctly shown in WHM.

    Thanks,
    Francois

    EDIT: fixed by:

    # cd /usr/lib
    # cp libmysqlclient.* /usr/lib/mysql/
    # cd /usr/lib/mysql/

    then recompiling Php 5.2.3
     
    #12 Interdit, Aug 11, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2007
  13. velda

    velda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    Did you get this resolved? I've tried the tips here and am getting the same thing.
     
  14. erik@delphi

    erik@delphi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Belgium
    it is ....

    Code:
    /home/username/.cpanel/datastore 
    rm -rf _usr_sbin_mysqld_--version
    
    refresh your Cpanel and ...... voila
     
  15. velda

    velda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    weird. I tried it; no dice. I am thinking this has to do with a cpanel skin issue I'm having so I'll go back to that ;)
     
  16. handsonhosting

    handsonhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Older thread I know, but it's something that we actually just ran into ago and were able to resolve.

    cPanel changed the location of the DATASTORE folder in version 11.

    The new location is in /home/username/.cpanel/datastore

    rm -rf /home/*/.cpanel/datastore/_usr_sbin_mysqld_--version

    Will remove the version numbers and reset the next time the cpanel is loaded for the client.
     
Loading...

Share This Page