The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPanel shows incorrect disk usage

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by domic, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. domic

    domic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM / "Quota Modification" shows correct disk usage:

    Disk Used 159M

    # quota user1
    Disk quotas for user user1 (uid 521):
    Filesystem blocks quota limit grace files quota limit grace
    /dev/sda5 44 10240000 10240000 33 0 0
    /dev/sda8 163548 10240000 10240000 17547 0 0
    /dev/sda2 4 10240000 10240000 3 0 0

    /dev/sda8 /home
    /dev/sda2 /var
    /dev/sda5 /

    But CPanel shows incorrect disk usage:
    0.05/10000 MB

    Please help!

    P.S. /scripts/fixquotas has not helped
     
  2. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Common reasons for quota problems
    - There are files owned by the same user elsewhere on the server
    - The backup directory is being counted towards the users disk quota
    - Extra log files are being counted towards the users quota

    Step 1. Find the user account where the quotas are incorrect and login to your server in SSH as root.

    Step 2. Go to the users folder and check their disk space being used.
    cd /home/username
    du -h or try du -hs

    Step 3. Check /etc/passwd and /etc/shadow to make sure there is no weirdness where the username shows up multiple times.

    Step 4. Try finding other files owned by the user.
    find -user username | more
    This will list all files owned by this user that could be affecting the quota reported by Cpanel.

    Step 5. Uncompressed backups can cause quota problems, ensure your backups are compressed in the WHM backup options.

    Step 6. After your determine the source of the files and remove them then run /scripts/fixquotas

    :)
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This can happen when the cache file used to display the quota value is out of date. The file in question is ~/.cpanel/datastore/quota_-v

    Remove that file then refresh the cPanel interface.
     
  4. xeonia

    xeonia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I tried those tricks without success. :)
    Anything else?
     
  5. fkatzenb

    fkatzenb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lusby, Maryland, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had similar issues when I transferred a website over to the server. Some of the directories were used to upload things like pictures etc. They did not share the same ownership. I fixed the owner and now all is well with the world.
     
Loading...

Share This Page