The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel SSH Access to Linux Terminal isn't allowing me to use certain commands

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by LokiGamer, May 18, 2016.

  1. LokiGamer

    LokiGamer Registered

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I am trying to install beanstalkd - Removed - via the Linux Terminal using the SSH Access provided by cPanel (with the recommended program PuTTy). The previous link gives commands that should install beanstalkd on the server via the terminal. I have practically tried all the commands in the previous link and am consistently obtaining errors like:

    Whenever I use either the sudo or su command like this:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install beanstalkd
    I obtain an error like this:

    -bash: sudo: command not found
    I found in the cPanel forums a post that might be touching on a possible solution (talks about bash and changing the permissions via cPanel):
    SSH access not working for root

    Though the instructions given were given in 2003 and no longer exist in the cPanel. It does seem to me that I have a "permission" type problem.



    QUESTION:
    Does anyone know how I can configure cPanel so that I can run commands like sudo and su over SSH (via PuTTy)? Is it a configuration and/or permission issue or possibly something else that isn't allowing me to do so? How might I go about configuring bash if indeed it needs to be configured in my case?

    SERVER AND HOSTING INFORMATION (the info might be helpful..): A shared hosting account with Godaddy (economy) with a linux server running a linux distribution of Red Hat 4.4.7-16
     
    #1 LokiGamer, May 18, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2016
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,463
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Do you have root access to this server? I'm assuming you don't.
     
  3. LokiGamer

    LokiGamer Registered

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you for the post Infopro. When I enter inside the terminal window (with PuTTy via SSH), I give my cPanel username and password and login successfully and can execute a decent amount of commands. I assumed that I would have root access though now I am doubting I do. How would I go about obtaining root access to the server? Is there an option in cPanel? Maybe a configuration file?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,463
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you don't have root access, you'd need to speak with your Hosting Provider and see if they'll enable it for you. :)
     
  5. LokiGamer

    LokiGamer Registered

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Awesome. I'll call them up tomorrow to see if I get it enabled, and If I find a solution, I'll post it here for future users to have as a reference.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,463
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That is the solution, TBH. At root level you can run any command and install anything you like. That's why most Hosting Providers do not provide root level access.
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    & just fyi centos Redhat uses yum as it package manager not aptitude
     
Loading...

Share This Page