The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel SSL certificate?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ckizer, Aug 12, 2001.

  1. ckizer

    ckizer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I want to purchase and install a certificate for the /securecontrolpanel/ URL i have all my users (we setup /ctrl) go through the control panel securly, but many of the customers are upset because the SSL says that it's not for this domain (they think it is a security risk) is it possible to have a certificate for this? And if so how do I go about installing it?

    I already have a certificate for my secure signups, I assume i will need another one.



    [Edited on 8/13/01 by ckizer]
     
  2. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:7c365cf822]I want to purchase and install a certificate for the /securecontrolpanel/ URL i have all my users (we setup /ctrl) go through the control panel securly, but many of the customers are upset because the SSL says that it\'s not for this domain (they think it is a security risk) is it possible to have a certificate for this? And if so how do I go about installing it?

    I already have a certificate for my secure signups, I assume i will need another one.



    [Edited on 8/13/01 by ckizer] [/quote:7c365cf822]

    The pem file is in /usr/local/cpanel/etc/cpanel.pem

    Just chattr it +i after you install it so the cpanel install doesn\'t overwrite it.
     
  3. ckizer

    ckizer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    lol, sorry that went over my head. can i use the certificate I have now? I use it for secure signups and such, if not how should i generate the CRM for this (whm?)
     
  4. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:8821658cd5]lol, sorry that went over my head. can i use the certificate I have now? I use it for secure signups and such, if not how should i generate the CRM for this (whm?) [/quote:8821658cd5]

    If you have out from thawte just login and download a PEM certificate and copy it to the location mentioned
     
  5. ckizer

    ckizer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I\'m guessing this won\'t work with my certificate from equifax?
     
  6. ckizer

    ckizer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    also how do i find out the path to tell customers to call their site securely?
     
  7. teck

    teck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Won't https://www.sharpwebinnovations.com/~userlogin work?

    Also, Court, can you tell me how you installed the Equifax cert? I'm getting one soon and I might need help since I heard it was tricky. Feel free to email me if you wish :)

    [Edited on 8/13/01 by teck]
     
  8. ckizer

    ckizer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually Matt@site5 did it for me on our dedicated box.
     
  9. smilb

    smilb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just did mine, its not that hard. You need to edit two things. The cert itself and the key. Copy this /usr/local/cpanel/etc/cpanel.pem and edit the cert and key. Both are in the one file. Put the edited cpanel.pem back, restart ssl. You will be happy to get rid of localhost.......Also do as Nick said and lock the file so it won\'t be overwritten on next update.......
     
  10. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:b17bcb8fee] Just did mine, its not that hard. You need to edit two things. The cert itself and the key. Copy this /usr/local/cpanel/etc/cpanel.pem and edit the cert and key. Both are in the one file. Put the edited cpanel.pem back, restart ssl. You will be happy to get rid of localhost....... [/quote:b17bcb8fee]

    What info do I put in the cert and key sections of the pem file? And where do I get it from? :(
     
  11. smilb

    smilb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I got my cert from www.freessl.com......replace your key and cert for the one in cpanel.pem

    [Edited on 8/16/01 by smilb]
     
  12. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    smlib,

    [quote:c1b409cb0a] I got my cert from www.freessl.com......replace your key and cert for the one in cpanel.pem [/quote:c1b409cb0a]
    I couldn\'t quite get that. Did you replace the contents of your key and freessl cert with the contents in cpanel.pem? Or is it the other way around? :(
     
  13. smilb

    smilb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Put your key in cpanel.pem replace the one that is there.

    Put your cert in cpanel.pem replace the one that is there.

    Put the file back....

    The pem file is in /usr/local/cpanel/etc/cpanel.pem

    Just chattr it +i after you install it so the cpanel install doesn\'t overwrite it.
     
  14. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:cc37e92f0c]Just chattr it +i after you install it so the cpanel install doesn\'t overwrite it. [/quote:cc37e92f0c]
    Thanks smilb. I\'ve got it now. :)

    The freessl seems to be a good option. I only wish it would also work with Netscape, although apparently it will soon.
     
  15. Karl

    Karl Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    smilb - I just tried your instructions and it doesn\'t work for me. CPanel just sits there and hangs on Starting CPanel ssl services. :(
     
  16. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Use port 2083

    [quote:17ee3410b1]smilb - I just tried your instructions and it doesn\'t work for me. CPanel just sits there and hangs on Starting CPanel ssl services. :( [/quote:17ee3410b1]
     
  17. Karl

    Karl Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I mean when restarting CPanel after updating the cpanel.pem file. Not when trying to access the secure CPanel.
     
  18. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I\'d successfully (at least it seemed like it) changed the cert info in the cpanel.pem but didn\'t lock the file, I wasn\'t sure it would work, so I didn\'t want to prevent cpanel updates from fixing it. Well, like I said, it did work, but now when I try to edit the information again or replace the default cpanel.pem with my edited version, it still says localhost. I\'m doing everything per the above instructions, repeating what I\'d done the other day, but this time the change doesn\'t effect the cert status.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?
     
  19. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    I have over 10 Equifax / Geo Trust SSL certs running. They have 2 different CA trusts. The most important thing I found was I had to paste soem Equifax content into the Ca-bundle file to keep browsers from warning about untrusted CAs.

    I have also seen the browser return to a blank page after WHM cert installation. Seems like IE was the cause ..SSL wasn\'t working for the domain so I restarted apache and it worked.
     
  20. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    finally found the way to restart cpanel, fixed the problem:

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/cpanel3 restart

    [Edited on 11/26/01 by indiboi]
     
Loading...

Share This Page